Raids week 63

Here is the rundown of last week’s Saturday night raids.

I logged on a bit after 9 pm my time (3 pm EST) and posted for baba’s normal. I had a few joiners right away, but then it got quiet. We waited for about 40 minutes to fill the party before I suggested we short man. I asked the party to split themselves for the sides, my only suggestion was that the warlocks go on different sides (to make the sides more even). Except for some struggles to get the scarecrows down at the same time, the puzzles progressed nicely. For the end fight we decided to try the tactic where you kill the shambling dooms when they spawn before killing baba. I was told that this is the best tactic for higher difficulties. On normal, though, I felt it wasn’t really worth it, as it took us as long to kill the shamblers as it took us to kill baba, and we still ended up with several deaths. I’m thinking on normal it’s just best to focus on killing baba as quickly as possible.

The on to strahd. We lost several party members from the baba run, but for this raid we didn’t need to wait that long to fill. In less than 15 minutes we were in progress with a full party. The first part progressed nicely, the stairs was a bit slow due to waiting for traps to be disabled while fighting mobs. We had some deaths there. The heart fight was quick and somewhat easy and doors also completed faster than last week. For the end fight we had someone take the sunsword, and they did a good job keeping strahd vulnerable. We managed to get the brides down almost at the same time as strahd and the sword was used to stop him from getting back up. We finished in 23 minutes.

 

I switched to Cerge to post for legendary tempest’s spine, and again had a few joiners right away, but then we waited. And waited. Almost 50 minutes after the strahd completion I was stepping in, and we still had one spot left to fill. This did fill shortly after, though. We had someone die on the way to the front door, but they got picked up and raised inside. In fire and ice, fire ran off and I chased him down the corridor back to the others and we managed to get both fire and ice down on the first try. I picked up the rune and then helped kill off trash. Short cut to rust monster room, a few deaths there, but the room itself finished without issues. I ran ahead with the barb to fight the beholder, and the rest caught up a bit after. The end fight was long and tedious as it usually is, but I don’t recall Sor’jek resetting this time. We finished in 29 minutes.

Since the raids had been slow all night, and I didn’t really want to wait another hour to try and fill something, I decided to quit for the night after TS.
Until the next raids.
Cheers.

One comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.