Catgotslain has reached her goal

I got a bit of a late start, I hadn’t planned to play Hardcore League but when some friends started talking about it, I decided I wanted to do it too. I wanted the horse. I’ve done 5k favor before, but not solo, without dying or in 3 months – yet, that was what my initial plan was. To solo to 5k favor, and stream on twitch while doing so. Actually, before doing that, I started a Youtube video-series, ExperimentA, B, C and D – I also named one ExpandableA, misspelling the name. In the Youtube series I first did 3 death tests, seeing what dying on HC would look like. Test 4 I was going to just play normally – elite at bravery level and see how long I would last. After doing about 17 videos, ppl started asking me to stream instead of doing these videos – so they could interact with me while playing. Took me a few tries to get the picture and sound quality up to where I wanted it, but then I switched to playing my other HC toon – Abandoned Summer Cat, and streaming while doing it.

On Abandoned I was playing more carefully, running elite at 4 levels above quest level. The problem was – I don’t play heroics that much and when I do, I don’t run everything. I spent ~4h a day during my summer vacation playing and streaming when I was running this toon. I had run everything elite (except for the solo quests) level 1-6, completed Into the Mists on casual to get the Ravenloft crossbow and taken 11, when I decided to run Sorrowdusk level 7s. Note, this is a chain I have run before, but very rarely do. I got to the trapped bridge and assumed it had the same mechanics as in the two previous quests with a trapped bridge – safe spots between the jets. I take a step in, notice I’m not safe and start running. I make it across, taking one or two hits and start healing myself. Had I hit my panic button – Luck of Olladra – I probably would have made it, but I was hitting my first cure key – which was cure light, so when the last trap hit me I died.

Having spent so much time on this toon, running quests that were difficult and took me a long time to complete, I knew I wouldn’t have time to repeat it. Initially my goal was to see how far I’d make it, expecting not to make it, but now I just felt really disappointed. I decided to make a new toon, but shadarkai this time instead of aasimar. Since I had about a month left, I decided that I was just going to try and get to 20, and skip running for favor. I started out just as before, running elite quests at 4 levels above, even put up an lfm. I completed most quests level 1-4 elite, skipping Stealthy Reposession this time around. As I got to 5s (at level 9), I couldn’t get joiners on my lfm, and I really didn’t want to solo elites anymore. So, I decided to switch to hard and after running some level 5s, I started skipping ahead, soon getting to running at bravery level. I also decided not to keep level, but to take level as soon as I could.

On Friday (September 18) I was 13 and was joined by a friend on a bard. The goal was to get to 20 before the weekend was over. Saturday morning I was 14, near 15. I streamed for about 1.5h before being joined by the bard at 15. We ran together for about 6.5 h, before I decided to stop for the day. At the time I was 16, half way through 17 in xp. Sunday we ran for about 5.5h, picking up both heroic sagas in Sharn (I also picked up 3bc and gianthold sagas for xp). I got 20 before I got the 1750 favor – I needed one more quest for the favor, so we finished with one run of Sane Asylum.

There we go, “Catgotslain Is Sad” got the 1750 favor reward – Archon Helm, and the reward for reaching level 20 – Death Walkers Sash III. Have a look at the screenshots below.

That’s all for this post.
Thank you for stopping by.

P.S. I named my first toon “Abandoned Summer Cat” as a reference to the all the cats in Finland that are abandoned at the end of the summer – and the campaign “Kesäkissa ei jätetä”. My idea was that when the toon dies, the summer cat has perished. When Abandoned did die, I was sad so named the next toon “Catgotslain Is Sad”.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.