About grouping

I’ve been playing this game for a while, and I’ve often been pugging i.e. grouping with random people on the server. From my raids I’ve gotten to know some regulars who recognize my most played characters, but with Orien being default server we also have a lot of newer players.

Over the years I’ve come to regard some things a common courtesy when pugging, and when people don’t follow them.. depending on what kind of day I’m having, it might agitate me quite a lot.

Here’s my list:

  • If you don’t know the quest, please say so when you join. If you don’t I’ll assume you know it, and will not help you out/ will get annoyed with you for piking.
  • Do not summon a hireling without asking the party leader for permission. A hireling takes up a party slot reserved for human players. Also, if we are running elite or even reaper, I could tell you that a hireling will be more of a nuisance than benefit, and I do not want to have to deal with it.
  • The quest is not over until it is finished or the party leader has called forfeit. Rage quitting/ recalling/ releasing before the party leader has said so may lead to you being black listed. I hate quitters. Especially if I’m running reaper and the party is not full this is a dick move because it will prevent anyone else from entering.
  • Please know your limits. If you have not run a quest before or not run it elite, either do not join on reaper, or send the leader a tell asking if you may join anyway. Most people posting for reaper know the quest inside out and prefer to keep a high pace. If you join and need to be babysat, you might find yourself blacklisted.
  • Listen/ follow the the party leader. Most likely they have a plan for how to run the quest, and unless you’ve got skills/ knowledge that will make the run easier, attempting to run the quest your own way will only lead to problems.

Then when it comes to reaper

  • Most of us who’ve been playing for a while have gotten used to self-healing. Everyone in my party is expected to have some level of self-healing, even on reaper. I also expect you to carry some buffs and be able to raise people. In reaper 1 you are going to get very little heals from the party, unless we happen to have a dedicated healer.. which is rare. In R2 and up we help each other with a bit of heals, but you’re still expected to be able to do some self-healing.
  • Reaper is intended as en additional challenge for people who’ve been playing for a while, have many past lives and find elite to be rather easy. It’s not really intended for new players. If you’re new you’re really better off learning the content on a lower difficulty.
  • Reaper locks entry to the quest if anyone recalls, so please don’t join if you haven’t run the quest elite. R1 is only slightly harder than elite so if you’ve completed the quest elite you know if you can handle R1. Don’t join only to rage quit when we run into a challenge.

That’s my list for now.
Thank you for stopping by.

P.S. Did I say I hate quitters? I f’ing hate it when someone joins my group and quits at the first challenge. Especially if I’m soloing reaper and the person then forces me to either restart or finish solo.

P.P.S. I forgot, DO NOT TAKE LEVEL without asking for permission. First of all, you may be slowing the party down by going to level mid questing, second, if you become the highest level in the party by doing so, you may be affecting the party’s xp.

One comment on “About grouping

Leave a Reply

