Lag, virtual servers and xp

Not too long ago ddo moved their servers to a new data center. As I understand it, Turbine also moved ddo to virtual servers. So far so good, virtual servers is what all the IT companies are doing, so that shouldn’t be the issue. But, as Flav says, Virtual servers aren’t easy, and running an mmo on virtual servers can cause a lot of problems. This is what I believe is what we’ve been seeing in ddo since the server move. The game server is now communicating in a different way than it was before, and the staff at Turbine has had to do their best to get things running as they used to.

Since the server move, lag has been awful. Many of the raids I used to run were close to unrunnable, and I pretty much quit on EEraids. The idea of EEraids was to try and get a static raiding group together so Thaz could eventually get her EE favor for the top level raids. She’s currently missing MoD and Shroud. But with the lag, I didn’t even want to try. Instead I’ve been focusing on real life and xping instead.

Turbine has been doing regular server restarts, trying reduce lag, but for me things are still worse than before the server move. I’ve been dualing Cerge and Godscraft in my EE saga runs, and when I hit AOEs and spam magic missiles on Gods, my game gets choppy. It didn’t use to. Raids I’ve almost quit on, as I really don’t want to spend time waiting to fill a group and then fail because of lag.

As you might know, Godscraft is not my build, it’s my friend’s shiradi sorc from a couple of years ago. When he took a break from playing, he let me use his toons. I wasn’t going to do anything with them at first, but then wanted to try playing a shiradi.. only to decide to maybe get some gear for his toons and use them for dual boxing. I’ve slowly started to get the hang of Godscraft, and I’ve been playing him instead of Cerge during Cerge’s eTR. That is, I dual them, but most of the time leave Cerge piking, while I run the quest on Gods. Gods was also missing a lot of xp for his EDs, so that’s why I have been bringing him along when playing Cerge.

I don’t always like dualing, as it slows me down a bit, but I’ve come to enjoy it more and more of late. The chars offer different skills, and allow me to do things without having to wait for the right char to join my lfm. Usually I lfm too. Gods is earning xp, and he soon has enough TP so I can buy him the next ddo pack.

I do have two multi accounts of my own, but the chars on the accounts are side builds that aren’t really planned. Gods used to be a really good build, but now he’s outdated and doesn’t have the best gear. I hope to get him some better gear soon.

Ok, that’s all for now. Ty for stopping by. Cheers.

3 comments on “Lag, virtual servers and xp

  1. Yeah, t he lag bug has been hitting me as of late as well :(. Luckily it hasn’t been too crippling. I’ve also been dual boxing quite a bit lately, its been fun running two accounts through the same quest, although it does slow you down, it also saves time by working on two characters at once :).

    • 🙂 I forget, which server are you on? I’ven been trying to follow up if lag is the same on all servers, or worse on some?

      When I dual, as I’ve mainly been running for xp, most of the time I just leave one char piking. But sometimes I put the melee on auto attack while playing the caster and sometimes I use the auto run and run both guys to the end or to the quest at the same time. Crucible is nice to dual, as I can have one toon on levers and pick up the crests with the other.

Leave a Reply

