Players and playstyle

I have played this game for a while now, since August 2011 to be exact (registered last week in July, made Thaz the week after). I know I have changed a lot as a player during this time, but I also see a change in the ppl around me. I have said it before, but I am highly influenced by the ppl around me, and then when I start to not like the way things are going, I tend to go my own way. This is true in real life, and in ddo. I get jealous of what others have or what they do… I lean towards the same thing, realize it just isn’t me and then just do my own thing.

There are so many playstyles in ddo, some use xp stones to TR, others zerg through the levels, some only eTR, others take their time to run the levels. I mostly pug. At times I end up in a static group of friends or guildies, which is nice.. but I do love the pugs, lol. I kept getting surprised by Osi’s way of zerg TR, with almost no pugs, only guildies, and yesterday a friend told me that he only let pugs into his group if they promise to pike, because he doesn’t want the penalty to xp from death. Others complain about pugs all the time, about how annoying they are, and how they don’t like pugging.

I have had my fair share of bad pugs, and I get frustrated when they don’t read the lfm. Like for example, if the lfm says “farm”, and the person is slow to enter/ exit/ loot/ what ever, I tend to get annoyed. I also don’t like waiting a whole lot, while I don’t mind if ppl start the quest without me while I’m selling/ repairing/ buffing. When I first leveled Thaz I would get annoyed if ppl didn’t wait for me, now I just want efficient runs and I don’t like waiting. But, while I’m doing my runs, I enjoy talking to ppl. For me the game is a lot about the social aspect, and that’s why I like pugging. I get to talk to ppl, and I get to get to know new ppl. Now, when I say new, I don’t actually mean new players, but ppl I don’t know from before. I sadly have little patience with ppl who are just starting out in the game, and therefor I don’t pug the first few levels, but solo them.

I do love running my raids, and explaining to ppl what’s expected of them in the raid. If the end fight is a bit sensitive, I may take an extra few minutes to explain it before we go. I like being in charge of a good group that listens to instructions and tactics, and I’ve seen it many times how even a less than ideal group can succeed when everyone listens and does their part. I enjoy leading ppl to victory. 🙂 But even with my experience as a raid leader, I get discouraged at times, and ask what other ppl think we should do. Or if the group just refuses to listen to me, I tend to just throw my hands up and type /sit. If they won’t listen, they get to figure it out on their own. Strangely this tactic tends to work too, lol.  A bit slower and messier, but usually the group gets their bums in a gear and works things out.

I remember that I at some point was asking if I’ve become elitist. I don’t really know the definition anymore. I play at end game and I love raiding. I put expectations on the group, I expect them to come prepared for the task at hand and be able to listen to instructions. But, I’d still rather group with ppl who are interested in the quest/ raid and want to learn it, or who are there to have fun, than with a group who are all about speed. When things are rushed, ppl make mistakes, I make mistakes. It gets back to the stress thing, good stress vs bad stress. When someone else is stressing me I tend to not play well. I need to keep my cool and keep a speed I’m happy with. This still doesn’t mean I’m a flower sniffer, far from. I like keeping a good speed, and I don’t mind zergy runs.

That’s all from me for this time. Have a great day and happy hunting.

P.S. The pics I added are from Decemember 2012, lol.

5 comments on “Players and playstyle

  1. [QUOTE] I kept getting surprised by Osi’s way of zerg TR, with almost no pugs, only guildies, and yesterday a friend told me that he only let pugs into his group if they promise to pike, because he doesn’t want the penalty to xp from death. [/QUOTE]

    Tell to your friend that i’m not like that anymore. I don’t care of deaths and let do people what they like to do. I can still solo exping nicely though. :]

Leave a Reply

