Thoughts about human behavior

I haven’t done one of my ramblings in a while, and now I don’t know where to start. I have said it before that I find the human mind fascinating, and I spend a lot of time thinking about what makes different people tick. What is it that drives us to make the choices we do? Most of us keep searching for pleasure, amusement, peace? Can we ever find it? Is it in our nature? I have learned that to want more is human nature. I do not believe we can ever be truly satisfied, because if we were there would be no need to keep living. It’s the things that drive us that gives us a reason to live.

No how does this relate to ddo or other mmo’s? This is a ddo blog, so 99% of what I write relates to ddo somehow. It’s the pleasure principle, playing games is just one of the many ways humans find pleasure. ddo is also a mmo, which means that instead of playing just in your own environment, you have others who share this world. I believe I’ve spoken about this before, but I do not think it’s ok to intentionally affect other’s experience negatively. Simple things like being polite and showing respect goes a long way when it comes to dealing with people. And yes, it’s a game, but there are real people with real feelings on the other end. Some forget this when they play. They hide behind their screen names and act in a way that they would never do in real life.

So what can we do? Well, some people are clearly trolls, they say things only for the reason to cause a reaction. “Don’t feed the trolls” is the common advice, because ignoring them is the only way to get rid of them so to speak. I have a bad habit of feeding them for my own amusement at times. Trolling a troll can be hilarious. But then we have the group of people, who are either too young to understand, or just don’t care about manners. Who think that hiding behind a screen name gives them the right to act and talk any way they like. Some people in this group can change, others are best ignored as well.

So, in ddo, what do we do when we run into people who are either trolls or misbehaved? The easiest and fastest way is just to squelch/ignore and move on. Just forget about the person and go on with what ever you’re doing. If you feel harassed you can report them. Some people change servers and for some that might help. The community is different on different servers. You can also keep a list outside of game of players you will not group with, and just avoid them.

🙂 Me? I don’t have anyone squelched. I squelched 2 ppl last summer. After a while I started to get annoyed with the confusing conversations in the channel I was, because both of my squelched ppl were talking, and I was only getting parts of the conversation. So I decided to be the better person and unsquelched them. I have run with both of them since, but I would most likely not let them into my runs, and I would definitely not join theirs. They’re easy to recognize and avoid, though. Come to think of it, I don’t join lfm’s much at all of late. I put up my own most of the time or join friends. I cannot remember having much of an issue with ppl, I even feel bad about kicking someone, but I have kicked someone for being completely useless and unresponsive. If I have to raise you 15 times (note: on a not healer toon) in a heroic elite quest, and I cannot even get you to kick your hireling when I tell you to, I’m sorry but no.

Okidoke, that’s all for now. Have a wonderful day and happy hunting.

P.S. I’ll post a blog about U21 when I get a chance.

By ddomicki Posted in Random

6 comments on “Thoughts about human behavior

  1. Wow wow wow, love how it’s ok for you to tell someone their too stupid for you to heal them and throw your bitchfits in the channel when the world doesn’t bow down before you but you think everybody has to be polite and show respect to you. Well respect is earned, you don’t get it by bitching and bossing people around and teelling them how great you are, if you were that great you wouldn’t have to say it. There’s a good reason you didn’t get into Matrix, stop the drama bullshit, stop talking that your this poor misunderstood girl. ever think that if you have to keep telling people your not a jerk maybe it’s because you are one?

      • I think that guy (it IS a guy, no girl would be so cowardly and would have bigger balls than this clown) has perfectly illustrated your post’s point.

        Troll (n.): 1. A giant creature with fast regeneration and vulnerability to fire and acid. 2. A person that provokes others on forums and social media just for reaction. (Sadly, only DDO’s giant-bane weapons are effective on those in the first definition.)

      • 🙂 Thank you. Well, he uses a fake name, a fake email, and a proxy’d ip, so he could lash out at me. I have my guesses at who it could be, since he’s told just told us he’s in gimps channel. In fact, his comment has nothing to do with this blog post at all, so I just shrug at his cowardly behaviour. Got something to say? How about you say it to my face next time? And no, I’m not gonna delete such messages. You want to make an ass out of yourself on my blog, by all means go ahead. You’re the one who’s gonna be laughed at. 🙂

  2. Well, just for the record I agree with ya Micki. I find it hard that people just can’t the time to just be considerate. We all play DDO to have a fun time but unfortunately some people only have fun by badgering others..I try to stay away from this types of folks as best as I can.

Leave a Reply

