Felica, a degu

It’s been a good while since I’ve told you anything about me, and my life. When I’m not playing ddo, I work, work out at the gym, swim, write this blog, edit my videos, or take care of my degus. A degu is an exotic rodent, related to the chinchilla and guinea pig, that originates from the Andes in Chile. Degus are very social creatures that love attention, and will follow you around like a dog for a treat. But they need a lot of space and exercise and they are very sensitive with their food. Feed them the wrong food and they can develop diabetes and die. The same goes for over weight. They need a balanced diet consisting of mainly hay and a bit of hard feed and fresh veg to stay healthy. They have poor insulin production, so they cannot have anything with sugar in it, which means, no fruit (at the most a small piece of apple/ month) and not too much of naturally sweet vegetables.

I let them out of their cage once a day for about 30-60 min in my bedroom where they have pipes and toys to play with, and some branches to chew on. Being rodents they need to chew to keep their teeth in check. Degus are also herbivores, like the chinchilla and guinea pig, but unlike rats and squirrels. Why do I mention squirrels? Because a degu likes to jump and climb just like a squirrel and they climb with their head facing forward unlike I guess cats?

I have 5 girls in 2 cages (since they don’t get a long), Felica, Isabel and Stella in one, and Luica and Tia in the other. They have to be let out separately (per group) to not fight. Even though I love my girls, I do not believe they belong in captivity (of course my girls are domesticated an could not survive in the wild), and I wish people would stop breeding them. Most people do not know how to take care of them properly, give them the wrong feed and not enough exercise.

Ok, without further ado, I have created a gif of Felica munching on a piece of organic, sugar and salt free rice cake (a non fattening, low carb treat that they love). Click on the image below to view.

Thank you for stopping by and have a wonderful day. 🙂

Cheers.

3 comments on “Felica, a degu

Leave a Reply

