Player or gamer?

Here’s a short food for thought post from a sleepy Micki. To start off, Mabar is ending early this year because of performance issues, which is both good and bad. Good because we don’t have to suffer the lag that affects other quests/ raids as well, but bad as I won’t get a chance to get the signets I wanted now. Anywho, on to the topic of the post.

As you may know, I am competitive, I have high demands on myself, but I am also stubborn and I do not want to do what everyone else is doing. But I want to get forward in the game. I was thinking about this last night and this morning, what kind of players and gamers are there, what kind am I and what kind do I want to be? Now, my definitions in this post are no standard or what everyone uses, but what I decided to use in this post. I use player to refer to a casual or active role player, and gamer to refer to someone who’s more serious, like a min-maxer or power gamer.

I play a lot as you may know, and I also pug a lot. The last year or so, I have though not been pugging too much leveling quests, but mostly raids and end game. I have focused my time on raids, to lead them, know them and to figure out the best tactics to use in a pug raid. I do love running raids, I could and have spent my weekends doing nothing but raids. But leading pug raids is also stressful. You never know what you’re gonna get, and you can’t trust that ppl even read your lfm. Anything can happen and you should expect as much. I love running raids, I don’t love getting angry and frustrated with my raid group because I can’t get them to do what they’re supposed to. Β And because of this I have joined raids run by the high end guilds. Over Raided, Matrix and Gimpfest. Sometimes in the past I’ve raided with some other guilds as well. There’s definitely a huge difference in running raids with group that’s used to running together and know the group’s style of running. Basically in those runs I can just tag along, and help a little bit.

I don’t TR much, and previously when I have TR’d I have had someone level with me. This I don’t have now, but I do have Osi, who’s guild I joined a little while ago. I haven’t run the lower level quests hundreds of times as some long time players, and I’m not sure I want to zerg them, but I do like keeping a good pace. This is why I’m a bit hesitant to pug lower level quests. The lower levels contain a lot of new players who are still finding their way in the game, and I sadly lack patience for them. I don’t mind teaching ppl raids, but I don’t want to waste my time waiting for ppl who don’t know where to go, or how to play. I don’t mind running with TR’s who go fast and I can just jump in when I’m ready and run after them. But I’m not sure I want to do this all the time, though.

I know I’m not a min-maxer/power gamer. What kind of player is that? A power gamer is someone who builds and plans his toons specifically for end game, for example for raids or soloing ee’s. This type of player is very much a number cruncher. Even though I am interested in this, I don’t know the numbers well enough yet, I’m not fast enough, and I do not want to copy other ppl’s builds. I want to make my own, and since I don’t quite know what I’m doing yet, my toons won’t be the best (although, I’m pretty happy with Thaz atm).

I am not a role player. I don’t play to play a role, or to get to know the quests. I have been trying to pay more attention to the stories though, and to get to know the quests. I feel like I’ve missed so much in the past, now I want to pay more attention. This is of course completely contradictory to the end game thing. End game is about getting stuff done fast, and you won’t really spend too much time on checking out the story in the quests.

I am not a casual player, but an active one. I run with different kinds of players, but more and more I’ve been running with the min-maxers and power levelers. Ppl who TR in less than a week and grind past lives fast. I definitely don’t want to waste my time, but I still want to learn the game, experience and learn how to count the numbers, etc. There’s so much to learn, and I’m constantly behind. I know that to keep up I should focus on playing one toon at a time. I should grind out past lives and farm for gear on one toon at a time, this is what ppl usually do. But, I like playing different roles. I like switching between my toons to play quests at a different level in a different role.

I guess I’m always the outsider. I hang with the in crowd, but I’m not part of the group. I hang with the outsiders, but I’m not part of their group either. We all want to belong, and I guess I usually feel like I never do.

Anywho, that’s a lot of random babble in the morning. Ty for reading and have a great day.

P.S. So, what kind of player/ gamer are you?

11 comments on “Player or gamer?

  1. Insightful thoughts–and without coffee! I posted similar thoughts a few weeks ago. I don’t role-play the personality of my characters, but I respect the roles of that class. By doing this, I try to maximize the Big Picture. If the class is designed for stealth, I don’t go on zerging runs. If the class is built to take on specific enemies, I do so. I believe that most classes have a decent balance that can be played without multiclassing, but still offers plenty of variations with feats, abilities and skills to make something remarkably different.

    Min-maxing is never part of my plan. It steals from the anticipation, the wonder of discovery of what something can do. Number crunching can’t anticipate that a Void Strike would make a training dummy disappear from an airship (a bug later fixed) with all the humorous guild recriminations (“Damn Monks!”). Or, at one time, that an Everything is Nothing could destroy both power relays in the latter part of “Schemes of the Enemy.” And you know how much fun I’ve had of late in discovering what the Henshin Mystics can do.

    As for PUGs, yeah, it’s hard to stay patient with someone who isn’t. If they’re willing to learn and thus enjoy more, I’m all for that. But still, I rarely enter PUGs.

    • πŸ™‚ ty for your comment. I must have missed your post.

      I don’t like soloing, as a big part of my fun is talking to other players. Soloing is for me an have to evil, when no one is joining my lfm. Quite often I’ll put up an lfm, then start running the quest. If I can’t get anyone to join, I’ll end up soloing, if I can. I also don’t like soloing for the reason that it takes longer.

      I am definitely influenced by the ppl I surround myself with, and my playstyle is slowly changing into a more zergy one.

      • I’m more introverted and so I’m less likely to partner up, so the Monk works well in soloing for me. But I hang out in a guild so I don’t get bored and think I’ve seen everything. The human element always adds something to a quest, even if you’ve run it a hundred times. The game can adapt to our personalities or play style. Zerging becomes slightly inevitable when you’re doing story-weak quests or those with poor optionals, or if farming.

      • πŸ™‚ I’m pretty introvert irl, while in game I come out of my shell. I wasn’t like this when I started out, but after getting to know Cleazy over a year ago, he pushed me to talk more, and I got used to it. I’m the goofball who talks and cracks jokes while we’re raiding. Unless it’s a difficulty where I really need to focus, then I stay quiet.

        Oh, and I used to want to control my raids very much, but after getting more confident in knowing how to fix thing if things go wrong, I’ve started giving less instructions, only the basics.

        πŸ˜› in fact going from being the person who’d always go through tactics in details, now in mabar I’d often wonder why ppl stress so much, lol. If we don’t lag, and have enough ppl protecting the altar, we’re fine.

  2. Hey Micki, very thoughtful post indeed. I have been playing this great game since March/April 2006 and I do play quite a bit, however I do not consider myself to be a power gamer. I rarely hit the raiding scene, as I have found that scene to be quite frustrating for me at times, although I have to admit this seems to have lesson of late. I generally like to take my time with my characters and to enjoy their abilities and it isn’t uncommon for me to take months to raise a few levels. I do have a few characters that I favor more than others, but for the most part I try to play a different character a day to keep that character’s abilities fresh in my mind, but I currently have 16 characters across two accounts so you can imagine that it takes quite a bit time for a single character to get developed. But that is ok, I don’t feel there is a need to rush through everything.

    I do enjoy the storylines and trying to figure out the grey areas of the storylines and to explore the other possible avenues they may take us. I generally post a lot about that in my blog and find it keeps you interested in the game.

    • πŸ™‚ I’ve wanted to do that, try out a bunch of different characters, but as I want to progresse all the toons I play, I was gonna limit myself to 3… which them grew to 5 with static group on Cannith, and running with my sis. My char on Cannith progresses faster than my druid, though, as with sis we usually only run a couple of quests per week.

      πŸ˜€ I have been reading your blog, and I do see a theme there. In every blog you challange the reader to look beyond what the average player sees. It’s interesting and different.

  3. Hehe, interesting post, for me it larely depends who I’m playing with. My main is on 9th life now and i have about 25 other characters, a few of them are 1st tr, and a couple of bank chars.
    When I play with my friend whom I met a few years ago in other game, we tend to role play our chars. We still run the quests, but speaking like our characters would, it is tons of fun for us and adds an extra layer of depth to the playing. But it seems that noone else does that in DDO (other game, like LOTRO for example is different in that aspect).
    When I’m solo, I’m sometimes extremely casual – for example start quest, then in a middle of it just park my char somewhere safe and drink a tea, then go back to that quest 20 minutes later πŸ™‚ But I can also run through stuff asap, without opts – when I feel that I want to get past certain level quicker.
    And in pugs, well then it depends on my mood – I know how to run fast and get large kill counts and so on, when I’m well rested and feel like doing that, I’m really pushing my skills to maximum, and my char usually ends up with most or nearly most kills / least deaths *laughs* But sometimes I just follow the rest, killing whatever they leave behind and enjoy the free xp, after a tireing day πŸ˜€ .
    OK, so I’m a bit of everything and impossible to put into single category. Maybe that’s why I play with different people πŸ™‚

    • πŸ˜€ getting to know u, Naniel, I can so see that. You’re a different kind of player depending on mood. Although, in ddo of late, u seem to have been playing faster than u used to when we first met. Not a bad thing, though, as I get bored if I want to progress a quest and someone else just wants to clean house (if Im on a toon that cant progress on his own, like my clonk last life). πŸ˜€ So, I guess u never know which Naniel u’re gonna get, but that keeps things interesting. lol

    • πŸ™‚ u’re the guy who shows up, runs a quest/ raid or two and then is off again. Honestly, I wouldn’t know, Komrad, as we only seem to bump into each other now and again. Maybe u just play very different hours than me? Except for Sundays, I usually log on at 9pm GMT+2, then stay til after Matrix raid. Saturday I log any time between 7pm and 11pm, and stay til 5? am… and on Sunday I usually play from when I get up (usually 1pm) til I have to let the degus out (around 9pm).

Leave a Reply

