U20 rage and other stuff

๐Ÿ™‚ I try to keep my readers happy and blog at the least every few days. The thing is, I like adding pictures to the blog, and I have all my screenies on my home comp, so I only write those kinds of blogs at home. Yes, of course I could write the blog separately and then add the pictures later, but no, not really into that. ๐Ÿ™‚ This is why I wouldn’t ever be a good novelist (unless it was a collection of short stories). I like to have my thoughts fresh in my head and I like to finish in one sitting. Including pictures. Writing a blog for me takes from half an hour to a few hours, depending on how much I edit the pictures. I also proof read a few times.

Anywho, mabar is up and I plan to write a few blogs about Mabar, my favorite festival. You’d think Cove was, with the amount of time I spent in Cove last year, but no, Cove is farmed out. Cove doesn’t offer anything I want, and it’s more of a frustration if you don’t find a good group. I love Mabar. I plan to spend ever day in Mabar for as long as it’s up. Or til I get tired of it. But back to the topic of this post, as I plan to do a Mabar post later with pictures. Commendations of valor, update 20 and Occupy Stormreach. And the last exploit. Here’s my opinions on it.

I have been following the forums some, but in the end I just get tired of reading about it. I don’t TR that much, and I’ve mostly been earning tokens and fragments from VON and ADQ. Checking Thazara’s bags, she had a good number over 100 raid tokens and over 4k fragments. So, I can get my toons hearts that will last me years (takes me usually about half a year to TR), unless they remove the usage of the old TR hearts which would have me annoyed. ย I do agree that removing the usage of the old tokens, while adding BtC commendations that can only be acquired from sagas is a very bad idea. The occupy stormreachย protest was imo a fun thing, getting players together for a shared focus is always nice, but do I think it does anything? Not really, technically what the players are doing is causing more traffic on a less used server, which is a good thing from Turbine’s point of view. ย If you really wanted to hurt them, you’d just cancel your subscription, stop playing, etc. But then again, who does that help?

I think, my real issue here is the lack of communication. I know Turbine development team and others are working hard and doing their best to move the game forward to keep players interested and playing. But that’s the whole thing isn’t it? They’re developing the game for us, but they are forgetting to ask the players what they want. How about pitching some ideas to the players before putting it into development? Not new content, but about technical changes like the hearts of woods and reincarnation? How about doing proper planning before developing and putting poorly thought through stuff on Lammania?

What I highly dislike is ranting and raving about stuff like the commendations of Valor, without offering any kinds of constructive criticism. You know, any time you find a flaw, try to think of how you would like to see it fixed. And try to look at the whole picture. DDO is a game, but it is also a business. For the company to keep developing this game it needs to be profitable. If it’s not, they will take it down, no more ddo. If you really love this game like I do, try to help Turbine make it better, send in bug reports, do constructive criticism, come up with ideas on how to make things better. Turbine is about making money, but they will not make any if they don’t have a large enough player base that will keep spending money on the game.

I’m not planning on leaving, this is the only mmo I play and I don’t want to play anything else. If I stop playing ddo, I’ll just go back to what I was doing before ddo, spending my time in other ways and maybe training for some competitions. Most definitely sleeping more. ๐Ÿ™‚ Most likely it’d be really good for me to stop playing ddo, but I really don’t want it. I’m addicted, and I want to stay addicted. But I worry. I worry that the game changes will drive players away. A lot of old time players have already left, and it’s for a good while already been harder to get groups for some stuff. For ppl who only or mostly run with their guildies it’s a non issue, but for me who depend on pugs, it worries me.

Then on to the exploit that I almost forgot to talk about. The exploit was bad, yes, and some ppl did make money off it. But how Turbine handled it was also bad. I got news about the exploit before the weekend (someone linked me a forum thread). I didn’t want to hear anything about it, I didn’t want ppl to figure it out, but leave it alone, as I saw that it would ruin things. Someone from Turbine removed the forum thread, as it was gone the next day. So, they were very much aware of the issue. What did they do? Nothing. From the player point of view they did nothing. On Tuesday they took down the shard AH and later the same day they ran a rollback hotfix. After which they posted a forum post saying that they will be investigating players, and banning anyone they suspect for 2 weeks, as well removing stuff from their inventories. Do I think exploiters should be punished? Of course, but this is wrong in so many ways. This is like putting treats on the table in front of you, then throwing u in jail for eating them. What Turbine should have done, was take the game down as soon as it was noticed, and keep it down til they could do a quick fix. Instead they left the game up, let the exploit spread, and then ban ppl for 2 weeks, and now they’re extending the ban for another 2 weeks so they can continue cleaning ppl’s inventories. I think this is all around bad. Will the cheaters learn from this? Of course not, the only thing they will learn is to be more careful next time… if there is a next time, as I’m sure some of the banned ppl have already left the game.

Is it a good thing that cheaters are leaving the game? Some might say so, I disagree. If you don’t want ppl to cheat, give us a reason not to. Someone said “offer a reward to anyone reporting a bug/ exploit”. Now that would be something. How about 1 month free VIP subscription? If you’re the first one to report an exploit, that can be proven, a nice treat would make you want to do it again. You’d most likely even have ppl helping you make the game better. Also, Turbine, if you don’t already have a group of ppl working on bugs, set aside some resources for this. Development is one thing, but if you can’t fix the bugs, you’re shooting yourself in the foot.

Alright, I have to get back to work. Will post a mabar blog this weekend. Cheers and tc.

Much love.

18 comments on “U20 rage and other stuff

  1. I like your post a lot. Calm and adult, that the way people should post on forum. I think i see Turbine point, they want to cut of farming and motivate players to run more content before TR, but to do that they must listen to their own playerbase, see what is problem. And the problem is grind, no one like it, grind is domain of asian mmo’s, and players don’t want more of it with BTC commendation.

    As for exploit, what they should investigate is why it become so huge. Players don;t cheat without reason. If cheating was punished in past it would not happen on this scale now. Turbine close eyes on many things, ed in heroic lvl, safe spots etc. We as players are used to ,,cheat,, one way or other. Because we know that Turbine can’t handle fixing things. Shut down servers as fast as possible, investigate duped items and just clearing out inventories of those items should happen as fast as possible after post on forum about it. Now we have angry community, few banned players that serve as dev team pounchbag that will rage quit and mess, not needed mess.

    • I agree with you mostly. Its first and foremost Turbine’s fault for overlooking these bugs and exploits, especially during Lammania preview when people report these. However, eds in heroics and safe spots ARE NOT the same thing at all. Where one is clearly not WAI, the other has been there since the game inception. Using quest geometry to your advantage is not an exploit, its part of a exercised strategy. Besides, we wouldn’t want to gimp rangers even more, would we? ;D

      • ๐Ÿ™‚ I want them to fix the ED’s in heroics, like they fixed the heroic toons in epics – although they messed up a bit with that one. Now you cannot enter an epic dungeon if there is a heroic person in the party, which is dumb, as I often party up with ppl of different levels just to chat while we’re running different quests. Also, you can still summon a heroic hireling inside the dungeon, which will prevent other epic players from entering. The ed’s in heroics, cocoon is nice… but when ppl use primal scream, and bolder toss in lowbie quests that are already easy, while pugging, now that’s ridiculous. If you want to do that when soloing, fine. But you’re ruining other ppl’s gaming experience by doing that in a pug that might not want to just pike. I for one would hate running with ppl where I wouldn’t be needed at all, but just pike at the entrance.

      • “But youโ€™re ruining other pplโ€™s gaming experience by doing that in a pug that might not want to just pike. I for one would hate running with ppl where I wouldnโ€™t be needed at all, but just pike at the entrance.”
        Zergers already did that even without the twists for years. With eds, though, they got much more effective ;). A huge amount of low level pugs are full of under-geared newbies. They will mostly be left behind and not feel useful at all. There are some great and patient players who will teach them though (when in the mood), but mostly people accept them just for their own amusement (I’m guilty of this as well) during the “borefest” xp grind.

      • ๐Ÿ™‚ my friend, who has been playing the game since 09 and has a multiple TR, was complaining about the ruining of the runs by the use of eds. So its not only newbies. And me, I hate piking, unless Im just sucking and keep dying, then Id rather pike.

    • @Wey

      ๐Ÿ™‚ ty and I agree with you.

      Although, safe spots? ๐Ÿ™‚ Are a part of the game. Like, ranged toons have always been able to ranged mobs from a safe spot.

  2. Good meaty post Micki! I mostly agree with you, but don’t want to get into the things I see differently. This is your post after all ๐Ÿ™‚

    One think that Geoff mentioned and you almost touched is a player’s council much like LotRO (another Turbine game!) has. I believe that this would certainly help the game in the long run!

    In the end we should still think at the terms of use for this product (DDO) and the fact that it is Turbine’s game (they are the DMs!). I think all can agree that they want it to run as long as possible.

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ rules are only rules when they’re enforced. This is how the world works, if u know u can get away with breaking the rules, that ppl will look the other way, u’ll keep doing it. Even more likely if a lot other ppl are doing it too. Player council is a good idea.

      • P.S. Oh I missed that one regarding rules. I rather avoid generalizations since this goes straight to an endless discussion without any proven facts. From my point of view, I respect rules because they are giving me order in the balance. Maybe this is why the players I know, I play with and guildies are right here even after so many flawed updates, bugs, cheats and other Turbine mistakes ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • ๐Ÿ™‚ well, I was referring to anything from drinking beer/ wine in the street (illegal here, but if the cops can bother to care, the only thing they do is pour out ur drinks) to driving as u like. Oh, and imagine turbine suddenly decided that using eds in heroics is against the rules? How many do u think would would stop? ๐Ÿ™‚ if something is against the rules we need 1. Clear info that it is and 2. Turbine needs to enforce the punishment asap. Like they do on the forums. Although, I dislike perma bans. ๐Ÿ™‚ Id rather see them give treats for good behaviour though.

      • ๐Ÿ™‚ and my suggestion for 1 month free vip dubscription wouldnt cost them like anything, and might even get ppl to buy more subscriptions.

    • Except we might “lucky” and get Madmatt, Thrud, Uska, Qaliya, Forzah and co. players for a council. Turbine fanbois and apologists xD

  3. I certainly agree with you on this one: giving incentives for fair play is certainly better than handing punishments left and right ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

