DDO and people

I’ve been thinking about things… again. First about perception, impressions and then about why people change. I have been playing this game for a while now, I’ve estimated I play between 20 and 40 hours a week. Since I started playing I’ve had to progress on my own, I didn’t have a gaming buddy who’d run with me, and I didn’t want to spend all my time trying to figure quests out. So I started pugging, first just joining other’s, later putting up my own, often asking for a guide. Anywho, off topic. The thing is, by pugging I’ve run with a lot of people, and when I started spending time at end game, I started to remember names. People who’d join my raids, or people who were good or friendly players. I still get confused with people’s alts, and I don’t recognize voices, but that’s again off topic, lol.

There are people that when I got to know them were relaxed, friendly and fun… and a year later they’ve completely changed. Now they seem always moody, rude and sometimes mean. Oh, I can be sensitive at times, but a lot of the time I just shrug at these kinds of behavior. I know we are all influenced by our experience and by the people we surround ourselves with. But, when people start perceiving you as rude, shouldn’t the warning bells start ringing somewhere in the back of your head? DDO is a game. I keep hearing the “it’s just a game, so chillax”. Well, does that give people the right to be rude to others? Or to ruin their game time?

I keep saying over and over that DDO is about fun, and everyone should have the right to play the game the way they enjoy it. But I think we must remember, that we are not alone. It’s not all about “me”, unless you actually only solo. To me, good manners have always been important, and I’ve considered people rude pretty easily. But I’ve gotten used to it. I wouldn’t be able to play the game if I reacted to every little detail. I try to act by example, though. Things that I consider important for good manners, are the things I try to make sure I always do. Like say “good job” after a run. I even force myself to say it after a not so good run, if we’ve still completed and ppl have worked for it. Shake if off and be polite.

I have at times been too polite and people do take advantage of my bad conscience. It really pisses me off when people try to guilt trip me into doing something, In fact, after some stuff in my past, I now refuse to do anything that someone is trying to persuade me to do by guilt tripping.

Anywho. Play the game the way you enjoy, but remember that you are not alone in the game and be polite.

That’s all from me. Over and out.

P.S. And before you all jump down my throat, this post was not directed at anyone in particular, nor is it concerning anything that’s happened recently. I can think of 4 ppl off the top of my head who are different now from when I first got to know them. Also, I’m sure I am different now too from when I first started playing.

By ddomicki Posted in Random

7 comments on “DDO and people

  1. Yes id say ive changed a little bit, im still nice to people (i think :P) but not as patient in pugs as i used to be

    I hate when people dont say things before they leave, good or bad i always say ty for group or something, lots just leave group without a word

    Off topic, wasnt that guy nice who wished you luck in ToD πŸ˜› hehehehe

    • πŸ™‚ I didn’t at first, but there were so many clues. You said “Micki” so had to be someone from twitter, or somone who reads the blog. Then I saw lvl 1 barb, after I recommended a melee, so guessed it was you.

  2. I can’t really say I have seen specific people change per se, but what I have seen is the change in the general population over all over the years. When I first started playing, joining pug groups was really the only way to progress through the game then when more raids started to be developed and released a different mindset was created and became more an “elitist” type attitude. Then the game went free-to-play, and the pug scene turned more into frustration and developed more into a solo type atmosphere. Nowadays, I see the game population reverting back more to the pugging scene which in my opinion is a good thing.

    • Interesting. I haven’t been playing that long or actively that I would have noticed this. I’ve been actively raiding for over a year, but before that I was mostly pugging and leveling my toons, always playing several toons weekly, so I’m slow.

      πŸ™‚ What I have noticed though, is how the latest changes to the game has dropped the amount of raids run a lot, and some raids are not almost run at all. Shroud was my favorite raid at the start of the year (or was is last year? When I had 3 shroud flagged toons anyway at the same time – now I have 2), now it’s almost not run. I also missed many of the raid farms, ppl using bypasses and running the same raid over and over.

Leave a Reply

