Maidae 3.0

Omg. This is so confusing. See, my plan with Maidae has been a long while to do monk-monk-barbarian-fighter-monk-monk. But I wasn’t going to TR Maidae while Cerge was levelling, so I’ve been running raids and epics on Maidae when I haven’t been running Thazara (or the others). Since U19, I’ve felt like Maidae’s dps has gone down a lot, and she’s not as good of a toon. But I keep getting surprised over and over of how well she manages. I’ve still been running a little bit of byoh ee’s on her, and yes, she can’t tank the bosses, and she does die, but not really any more than anyone else. I’ve also done a few ee VON6 and ee ADQ raid on her, and she self heals with cocoon and melees. She’s not as good as Thaz, on Thaz I feel confident that she can handle most situations, while Maidae? I expect Maidae to suck and die. πŸ™‚ I was very happy today when I got to ‘rescue’ one of my friends who was soloingΒ Through a Mirror Darkly ee. He lagged or dc’d, I don’t know, I saw him die then dc, so maybe he was frozen. He offered free ee chest and completion, that’s why I was in the party. I jumped in, kited the mobs around til I got him raised and then helped melee a bit (even managed to insta kill one with quivering palm). πŸ™‚ Even though it was very little, it still felt very good to not be the one who needed rescuing.

Anywho, to get to the point. I hope to get Cerge to 20 next week, after which I will start running epics and raid flagging on him. When Cerge hits 20 I want to TR Maidae into a barbarian. If there is one class I hate having in my party when I play Thaz, it’s the barbarian. The barbarian may carry major dps, but he also takes damages very easily, and more than often I’ve run with the 2 shot dead barb. 1k hp and still dead in 2 hits. So they require constant healing to be any good. I don’t want to be one of those barbs, so I want my barb to have evasion and umd. What I didn’t think of at first was that barbs run around a lot in raged form, which means you cannot use scrolls or cast cocoon.

I haven’t yet been able to decide on a build, but if anyone wants to take a look, here’s my forum thread about the matter: The classic evasio barb?

Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day/ week. πŸ™‚

18 comments on “Maidae 3.0

  1. You just doing barb for past life? never really played barb, mainly for reasons you said

    Leveling to 20 shouldnt be too bad tho, hope you sort a build out and dont hate it πŸ˜›

      • ok, barb just look boring to me lol

        For me id only do barb if i was going completionist, 10hp or w/e it is doesnt seem worth it to me, i think pally for amp is alot better for end game raids πŸ™‚

  2. *smash* *kill* grrr aargh! πŸ˜›

    Maidae can already find traps with her face so she should have no problem TR’ing into a barbarian πŸ˜€

    Hope you find a suitable build. They can be a lot of fun πŸ™‚

  3. Someone on the forums said “If you like elf, play an elf….that race and Halfling have the best dragonmarks. Elf = 4 displacement clickies maxed out.”.

    So I have decided to make her an elf barbarian with evasion. Starting stats 18-14-16-8-8-8, Feats: power attack, cleave, thf, improved crit: slashing, greater cleave, improved thf, greater thf. Skills mostly in balance and umd. Enhancements I’ll try out in practice.

  4. To enjoy Barb life as much as possible:
    1) 12brb/6ftr/2rog either THF or TWF (depends on your weapons)
    2) Get 400 SF favor buy shittons of SF pots
    3) Make all of your stats 11+ by lvl 11-12
    4) Before those lvls use Cure Seriousness Pots
    5) Kundarak delving boots permaslotted, use Speed V-VI (not boots) items or Quiver of Alacrity (upgraded)
    6) Take stunning blow and dominate orange named/ casters >:D
    7) GS smoke item permaslotted (can use Greater Nimble trinket)
    8) ……..
    9) Profit!!

    • πŸ™‚ 12/6/2 was one of the ideas I had, but I got convinced out of it. It was suggested to me on the forums to basically make an arti, 9arti/ 9barb/ 2rogue, ranged toon. But meh, the barb is supposed to be very good dps, so I’d like to try one one life. I’d take stunning blow, but currently it doesn’t fit into my plan with only 7 feats.

      • even Artie and barb lvls, will give you artie past life afaik.
        Go human and you’ll have 8 :).
        You should have at least 1-2 GS displacement clickies anyways and if you don’t: WTH were you thinking? >:P

      • You get past life of the class you have the most of. If you have equal amount, it follows the order of which the class was released. See http://ddowiki.com/page/Past_Life_Feats.

        πŸ™‚ I only have one displacement clicky, I’ve been meaning to make 3 for Thaz and 2 more for Maidae… but I still don’t have enough stones (I don’t TR much, so I don’t run vale too often). I’m gonna make Maidae a min2 falchion, and Cerge a shadow tank weapon. I also don’t have any raise dead clickies which I should make too. I’ve already made 9 gs: 2 for Cerge (items), 1 for Maidae (item) and 6 for Thaz (3 items, 3 weapons).

        Oh, and I already made up my mind, I want to make an elf barb. πŸ™‚

  5. Where is the rest of the character’s Dexterity? A 36-point build should be able to have 18 str 18 dex and 18 con. I think? I know a 36-point Halfling can do that, I assume a human can too?

    • πŸ™‚ as you may know, when you create a toon, the first 6 ability increases cost 1 point, 7-8 cost 2 points and 9-10 3 points. So a 36 p build human, with 8-8-8-8-8-8 base can do: 18-16-6-8-8-8 for example. A halfling has base 6-10-8-8-8-8, so he can have max 16 str. For example 16-14-18-8-8-8 or 16-18-16-8-8-8 (with the 10 base u only put 10 point in it to get it to 18, while 8 base costs you 16).

  6. Quickly checking your planned feats and what you intend to do with your character (using DMs) I notice you are missing the required Lesser DM needed to unlock the enhancements.

    You could also consider increasing your Dodge for some extra survivability (Dodge, Mobility, maybe Spring Attack though it might be hard to find spare feats for all). To cite someone we all know: “a soul stone cannot DPS” πŸ™‚

    Finally a link for you if you aren’t 100% decided on the build (though you might know it): https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthread.php/422623-Redsonja-a-Melee-Ranged-DPS-Barbarian

    Other than that thumbs up and let us know how it goes! Cheers!

    • What feat would that be? From what I can see, the only enhancement line currently requiring feat is the death frenzy line. I wasn’t planning on going for that one, I’m more interested in occult slayer and ravenger.

      You are making me even more confused now, so, I’m gonna stick to my original plan. But that does look like an interesting build. Thank you.

      P.S. I donno what DM stands for.

Leave a Reply

