On the topic of bragging

There’s bragging and there’s bragging. I spend most of my game time running end game content and raids, because I’ve come to like it there. A friend of mine said he doesn’t like the end game, because of the elitism. I like it because of the skills and the community. Yes, it’s sort of one. When running raids or epics, I run intoΒ  the same people, and the same people join my lfms. I appreciate skills. I like people who can play their toons and play them well. I also appreciate people who are willing to help others, and show positive confidence.

Now, at the same time there are those who have played the game a while, have multiple TR’s under their belts and think they’re pro gamers. Not only do they think it, they let people know as well. They say things like “oh, my main’s on his 7th life”, or “I usually farm this” (in an undermining tone). It’s a bit hard for me to explain, people who are bragging about their accomplishments in a diminishing way, while failing to show any proof during the time you spend with them. I know a few of these people. They let you know how good they are, but when put to the test, they fall short.

The other kind of bragging, that I find well and acceptable, is when people show off stuff they’ve acquired through playing/ farming. That’s ok. That might make me hate you momentarily, but you’ve worked for it, so you’ve earned it.

I do have some friends who may brag a bit too much sometimes, but if I’ve seen them in action, and know they are skilled, then that’s ok. As long as they don’t brag to put others down. Now, that’s one type of bragging that I can’t stand. When you brag, to make others feel inadequate.

So, basically, what I’m saying is that, if you’re gonna brag about your skills/accomplishments, you better be able to show it in game, or just keep your mouth shut, ok? Also, be helpful, support others, don’t exclude them just because they haven’t reached your level of skills yet. Of course, the game is supposed to be fun, and if you don’t enjoy running with some people, you shouldn’t have to. But be polite about it.

Thank you.

7 comments on “On the topic of bragging

  1. So there’s bragging and there’s bragging but is there bragging? πŸ˜›

    anyway joking aside, i dont really like when ppl starting linking all there gear, one item is cool but ive seen some just do like 5 at a time, yeh u do get ppl who have done so many lives that all they wanna do is rush thru quest and if someone isnt a fast or unsure what to do they will be nasty to them

    • πŸ™‚ tbh, I am guilty of playing who’s got the biggest penis… emm, lol. I mean, who’s got the coolest gear. Someone starts talking about their gear and linking it, especially if they show many items, I may very well link all of Thaz’s gear. Exept for head slot, all of her gear is gs or named. πŸ™‚ I have a thing for named stuff, and usually prefer named over not named or crafted.

      My friend Demonnibler, though, he like solos ee, and has so much ee stuff and over 80 hero comms. Last time he linked me stuff I replied with, do u want me to hate u? πŸ™‚ He’s though nice, helpful and generous, so I’d never really hage him.

      • πŸ™‚ Well i guess its a little different if your showing a friend

        The one thing i really dont like is having ppl not saying Hi, or thanks for group especially when its been a good time

Leave a Reply

