Cove cove cove

I feel so bad, I haven’t blogged in a long while (for me, seeing as I went from blogging almost every day to 1-2 times a week and now nothing). I’ve been stressed. Trying to make time for everything, and give DDO enough time. But, I have been waiting for Cove, and my plans was to run Cove exclusively this time around for the 10 days it’s on. I’m passing on the raids and most of the quests for Cove. We’ll see this weekend, I might end my Cove runs before Sunday night, donno yet.

I started on Cannith with Keronna, getting her a ring and a trinket (the only useful items for a clonk). I’ll upgrade them on Friday. Then a few runs on Orien on our lvl 10’s with my sister (we duo’d with my hire and wolf protecting center, me torching, sis scouting). Then the weekend I did two openings at lvl 18 on Maidae and the rest on Thaz, first running lvl 26’s and then switching to 30. We learned that even with 200 over quota u make 400+ shards, with 300 over quota 500+. Nice amount of shards. Yes, the mobs are a bit tougher at CR30, but it’s supposed to be a challenge, no? πŸ™‚ More than once I ran off down to the bowling room on my own, aggro’d too much stuff, got hit with hamstring and killed. Heh, but who wants to play safe?

This week I’m running Maidae at CR20, and Jarvanna at CR10? Keronna at CR16? and Thaz at CR30. I’ll list my items once I’m done, but so far I’ve upgraded my epic items from last year to tier 3 (buckler, ring, scimitar and gloves), and got the new items to tier 2 (leathers 12 and 20, spyglass 4 and 16, ring 20, etc.), I think I’ll get a scimitar for Jarv as well. On Sunday I’ll trade my gems and doubloons and pick up as many air ellies as I can. πŸ™‚ I’m mostly getting items for Jarvanna and then Cerge and Maidae’s next life (Cerge trapper wizard and Maidae barb).

I’ll post pictures in my next blog.

Ty for reading and have a wonderful day.

P.S. Last year before Cove I had capped Thazara for 20 at lvl 18. After a few runs of CR20 at lvl 18 I decided to level her to 20. At the time I had run all quests elite up to lvl 16, except Spinner of Shadows. During Cove I stepped foot into my first epic, which was Lords of Dust (we didn’t run it, only went in for a chest). I was very intimidated, but I think I did ok. πŸ™‚

14 comments on “Cove cove cove

  1. Yeah, in Cove everyone and its dog seems to hamstring you and in higher CRs you end up always in slow motion. Gets on the nerves after a while … also no level 24 upgrades which I hoped until the last second that it will be the surprise for live. Oh well … more hats then? πŸ™‚

    Speaking of hats the ones from DDO Store are BtA (the ones from barter box are BtC) so nice to save space and switch them around. The cheapest one is 150 TP so pretty much a bargain.

    By the way, isn’t the Scimitar T3 ML20 chaotic only? Don’t have time to check but I recall some griefing about it requiring UMD to equip because of the Absolute Chaos upgrade. FoS gave some lousy explanations about the nerf which also affected people already having it.

    Don’t forget to do the tridimensional torch arrangements hehe. Always liked when people were doing them so screenies should be nice!

    Cheers and good luck πŸ˜‰

  2. πŸ™‚ Yeah, no lvl 24 items, but still easy to get items, and seeing as I’m lazy with farming quests, I like these events. πŸ™‚ And since they cause a lot of lag, it’s really not much point in trying to run raids etc.

    πŸ™‚ I haven’t bothered much with the hats. but I should prolly get one for Jarvanna as well (they others have their own hat).

    Yes, the scimitar is chaotic only, and I did think 2 and 3 times about it before deciding to upgrade, but since Thaz isn’t using it anymore, I thought it’d be fun to have a tier 3 one. πŸ™‚

    The new rune arm is awesome, though, while the flask is a bit too much grind, but some ppl have made one. It’s btc, though.

  3. This is my second time to the cove and although I normally run alone. during the cove I try to get in a nice group. It was so much fun and educational that I decided to go in a more active guild after the cove. got ring, leathers and spyglass all 16 tier 3. so will try to get them to tier 3 by sunday. and maybe do the rum, but hate it that I need to get lowlevel gems first.

  4. πŸ™‚ U can downgrade the gems now, though. I haven’t checked the full down grade, but I think u can downgrade the higher levels ones to lower ones, u just have to do them in some order. I downgraded diamonds to rubies and rubies to amethysts.

  5. Nice to see people enjoy it, i just dont think the grind is worth it, sure there are some decent items, i had a trinket from last year which is nice early on

    I may run now and again for a change but i wont be grinding out items

  6. πŸ™‚ Since last year of cove, I’ve noticed I enjoy running with capped groups a lot more than the lower ones. It’s skilled players with good toons, and a lot of the same ppl I’ve run with before. πŸ™‚ And most ppl are nice too. I had a great time this weekend.

  7. Ive not tried it with my capped guys, only my lv14

    tbh im not too great in there, all i seem to do is protect the centre or kill mobs on the line πŸ™‚

  8. πŸ™‚ Last year I stayed in centre the whole time. This year at CR25-30 we didn’t have anyone in centre, but everyone was running around killing stuff and scouting. 1-2 guys torching. We’d just d-door back to centre when we had incoming. And Jack’s spawn place has changed from last year and now he casts dance on you as well, which he didn’t last year.

  9. Jack is 50% nastier, from dancing balls to Harm. Have your death wards on or Jack will make fried fish sticks out of ya. At least he remains consistent in entering the center most of the time at quota completion.

  10. I have played mainly with people at level 17-18 (myself 15 rogue now) and although I had to watch out more (especially with Jack) It indeed went better then with people of my own level. Mainly thanks to the experience and tactics used. and yes you are right you can downgrade (but I hate clicking for a million times)

  11. πŸ™‚ Jack’s like my favorite, lol. But we had him spawn at random locations. My monk did a great job of tanking him (imo), while Thaz would be dancing. I guess in proportion Thaz’s will save (around 48) isn’t high enough for CR30 while Maidae’s (around 27) is for CR20.

  12. I like the cove but I’m not too interested in any particular item. I think I’ll just try to get a hat because they look cool, that’s it.

  13. Is the runearm really all that great? Seems kinda meh to me. Although if the bludgeon imbue makes bolts actually bludgeon (similar to the Silver Slinger) rather than a bit of extra damage added to them (like other imbues), that’d totally be worth it.

    And if the healing thing was BtA, I’d consider it. BtC, however, not on your life. BtC needs to die. And I too am disappointed not to have L24 gear.

Leave a Reply

