Sometimes things just go wrong

As some of you know, my cleric Thazara, who is my main and has been around since August 2011, has run all quests/ raids in game on elite, except MA normal, LoB and CitW hard. I am a bit obsessed with favor, and I am hoping to get the rest of the favor done (the raids + challenges). So, when I saw an lfm for “The Master Artificer, HH or HE”, I figured it was my chance (HE and EE give the same favor, so except for MotU and the High Road, you don’t need to do stuff EE). I sent the leader a tell asking about it, and he said it was undecided which difficulty. I joined and asked the party about it, said “I’d really love the elite favor, but if it’s too difficult I’m fine with hard”. The party tells me it’s not that hard and we decide to do elite.

I tell the party I’ve only done the raid once before and that was before MotU, when Thaz was lvl 20. I also don’t know my way through the factory and I get a guide to the raid. As we’re about to enter, the leader writes in chat that he doesn’t have voice today, so he’d like to give someone else the star. Nobody volunteers, and someone says “I vote Thaz” and suddenly I have the star. Oh, well, I have the star most of the time anyway, so that doesn’t matter. But then, as we enter the raid suddenly they’re looking to me to lead. Huh? Didn’t I just say I don’t know this raid? First our tank gets locked out, and we decide to let him pike a completion. Then a few ppl start doing the optional, even though someone else had said “let’s do it after” (apparently you can’t do it after).

We have a couple of deaths before gathering in the big room, but all is ok that far. We’re shrined, buffed and ready to go. I ask “do you want to assign teams, who’s on which titan, who I’m healing?” and I get the reply “that’s up to you”. Again, huh? We decide that one of the healers and one barb are gonna be on the green titan, while the rest of us prep the purple, and in we go.

First we’re in trouble with the trash. So damn much trash, which I didn’t expect. Someone dies, but we struggle through. Then the crystal appears, melees head for it and the floor goes electric. I ask “is there anywhere to be safe from the lightning?” Spamming bursts trying to look for a safe spot on the floor. One healer goes down, and ppl drop one after one… and it’s a wipe. Well, the only one still alive is the tank who got locked out. Someone tells me “Melees focus on the crystal and you have to spam heals. Don’t worry about mana, because you get it back.” And something about the floor only being electric while the crystal is there? So basically I should have just gone to the crystal and spammed bursts/ heals from there from there.

What did I learn from this experience? Never trust ppl to know what they’re doing. Next time I’m doing MA, I’m going in with a clear plan, so I can take charge and actually lead. Oh, and I hate messy raids. It’s a total waste of time.

Ty for reading and have a great day.

P.S. After the MA wipe I lead my first CitW, lol. I’ve had the star before, but this time I actually knew what I was doing and could give out some orders. I’ve learned that a lot of ppl want you to give them orders, lol. CitW was good.

11 comments on “Sometimes things just go wrong

  1. Yeah, things like that can happen. As you said if you are PUGing it better have a back-up plan. Hope I’ll read about the CitW run that you lead then πŸ™‚

    Don’t let a wipe change your mood even if you worked hard for that particular quest (yeah I know that MA is a very long raid just because of the dreaded wilderness run). Cheers!

  2. I like being given orders, last thing i want to do is let the team down so its cool when someone is there giving roles, assignments etc

    That other raid sounds like what would happen with me in charge lol

  3. @malinza πŸ™‚ All my raids are pug raids. I used to be worried, but now I know a lot of end content players, and I know that I don’t need to worry too much when running with them. I even knew some of the ppl in that group. But, the lack of leading was what go us, and I’ve been there before. When ppl don’t know what they’re doing, and you don’t have anyone telling ppl in advance what to do either. Had I know about the crystal thing, things would have gone differently.

    @legend πŸ™‚ I understand, and yes, I see that often it is easier when someone is assigning roles. πŸ˜› Usually it’s me, usually in ToD. πŸ™‚ But usually ppl get to volunteer for different roles.

    @zendikar πŸ˜› naughty.

  4. That’s why I don’t own a Mic. They can’t ask me to use my voice if I don’t have one. I’m excellent at doing what needs to be done and I learn what needs to be done right away. But I don’t want a bunch of people expecting me to say stuff. I’m to busy doin’ stuff.

  5. πŸ™‚ I love using mic. I def talk too much sometimes, or just bs. πŸ™‚ But I’ve also become very lazy with typing. If someone don’t have voice/ hear voice, it’s likely they won’t get the instructions. Even if someone tells me they don’t hear voice, I keep forgetting it over and over. πŸ™‚ So, yes, my raids are all voice lead.

  6. Yeah, sometimes failure is the only option πŸ˜‰
    And you’re right, many people like being told what to do, especially in raids. I know I do πŸ™‚

  7. Of course, there are always a few people (whom I know quite well, actually; not in game though) that always say “DON’T TELL ME WHAT TO DO!”. Hehehe.
    πŸ˜‰

  8. @comic πŸ™‚ Well, lol, I’m once of those ppl, especially when running my cleric. I have actually said that, lol. “Don’t tell me what to do”.

  9. πŸ™‚ In raids where u need certain roles, like ToD or VON6, I require the leader to assign roles for me to have any confidence in him. But most other times I get annoyed if ppl try to tell me how to play.

Leave a Reply

