Dusting off my druid

I made a druid at the time my sister decided to try out the game. It’s been a few months, I think, and I TR’d my monk. My druid has been offline for a whole month. So, yesterday I decided to bring her out and play for a while. I didn’t make a build plan for this toon, and I only found one thread on the forums with an idea of a build plan (at the time I was looking). But, I decided to build her like Thazara, caster with enough str for melee fallback. I took toughness, augment summoning, maximize, spell focus: evo, if I’m now remembering correctly. I keep calling my druid “my gimp”, but as a matter of fact for being a first lifer she’s almost as tough as Maidae. I trained wolf to be survivable and generate little aggro. He’s got trap resistance, toughness, wolf feed, etc. I buff Wolf on the guild ship when I buff myself. At level 8 he had more hit points than Jarvanna. πŸ™‚

So, yesterday we decided to run something as a duo with my sister. As she’s premium with only VON and Delera’s, we decided to give delera’s elite a go. Her druid is lvl 6, Jarvanna was 8. We brought hirelings, and both had our wolves and summons. I would buff the party with spiderskin and magic fang (summons, wolves and sis in wolf form), myself with ram’s might, bull’s strength, enveloping Swarm, then switch to winter wolf form, add fang and Harrowing Pack and off we go.

The pack

Except for hirelings dying in traps, sis’ wolf dying in traps, etc. we actually did really well. πŸ™‚ I leveled Jarv to 9 before the last one, picked up fire wall and reincarnate, and the traps didn’t even pose a treat. The first trap that explodes on you, I drank a haste pot and ran through, got hit only once for a little bit of points. Only problem in this quest was that didn’t remember that there’s only one shrine in it, so I was wasting too much mana and didn’t have any left for the boss fight. So, first try we ended up wiping there. Second go, better mana management and fire wall in-boxing in the boss fight and success. πŸ™‚

Wolves Jarvanna

πŸ˜› Now I’m hoping I don’t get too excited running my druid, as she’s supposed to be support for my sis… and I’ll level her way too quickly if I start running her more.

Ty for reading and happy questing

P.S. OnMouseOver for picture info.

6 comments on “Dusting off my druid

  1. But droods are supposed to be dusty xD

    I made a druid to support a new player but it would appear that he is not playing or forgot or who knows… I was left wanting to try the druid xD

  2. Nice pics packed with action if you know what I mean πŸ˜€

    My artificer’s iron defender always bugs out (stop doing anything even when commanded in a quest) when I put him use the ship buffs or it used to a couple months ago when I was playing my artificer, bug might be corrected meanwhile. Either way he dies incredibly easy which is a major complain I had with the class considering the iron defender is a component of its arsenal – one that fails badly there is πŸ™‚ Glad to see the wolves are more survivable, probably all summons were improved I just need to recheck it.

    Either way I considered to TR my artificer into a druid to improve his summon and then TR back to artificer again, but I am just too busy to fulfill all those goals πŸ˜‰

  3. @Malinza. πŸ™‚ To be able to use the pet, u need to gear him, put on armor and collar, and always buff him. Then remember to keep him back from traps, and if you don’t have a hireling, u need to keep an eye on his hp bar. It’s easier wit hire, as they heal your pet as often as they heal you. Ppl were complaining that arti’s pet was useless at higher levels, but it’s just like playing with a hire, you need to take care of them if you want them to survive.

  4. Yes, he had a nice docent, weapon etc., but as you said he is as useful as a hireling: stay back and heal me or otherwise do nothing. I used to not summon him just because of all the hassle. Plus he is a sponge and always needs recon even though he had the HP of a barb. Not to mention he is not aware of kiting (BB/Flame Turret), invisibility runs (even on passive he bumps into everyone unless I put him to stay in one place) etc. etc.

    All in all AI is rather stupid so it is nice to see some others enjoy the pets. As I said they might have improved them (in the last patch or so they improved hires in general) and I didn’t found out yet πŸ™‚

  5. πŸ™‚ If you play on the druid’s strengths, and you enjoy playing a versatile class, then yes. But, just like the cleric I can imagine that trying to play the druid like something it’s not, will just leave you frustrated.

Leave a Reply

