Thazara’s Story –>Dec 11, 2012

Malinza asked if I couldn’t tell the story of my toons, so here’s Thazara’s story.

Starting out
It was the last weekend of July 2011, when a friend of mine suggested I download and install the DDO client. I didn’t hesitate, but did so and looked at the different classes and races I could pick from. I wanted a caster who could melee, and from the class descriptions, the cleric seemed to be just that. I also wanted an elf, just because I like elves. My friend was asking me what kind of toon I’d want, and he suggested a dwarf paladin, but no. I wanted my cleric. As an elf, I wanted a fitting name, so I googled for elf names, and found this: Random Female Elf Name. I didn’t pay much attetion to the name meaning, but picked a name I liked. I picked Thazara because I thought it was pretty, but later on found out it means, Tha: fox, zara: lightning. Thaz the lightning fox. ๐Ÿ˜›

Edit Nov 11, 2013: Tha actually means vigil/ vigilance, not fox. I looked it up again a while after I wrote this post.

Thazara the gimp
My friend gave me starting stats and said to max out concentration, the rest was up to me. The stats he gave me I later on found out was all wrong, though. Anywho. During the lower levels Thaz was only meleing and maybe healing herself once in a while. She was always running with a hireling, and she didn’t know how to turn anything. At around lvl 7? I started pugging full time, as my friend wasn’t running with me much. I didn’t have any caster feats, but had things like tower shield and die hard. At the time I started only pugging, I also was a full time healbot. And a bad one at that. As I didn’t have radiant servant, no caster feats and wasn’t using scrolls/ wands. I was a pretty crappy healer, and a crappy melee.

Thazara Nov 2011 Thazara Nov 2011

Thazara the healbot
My friend had come up with the idea to run all quests, and on elite for max favor. I was following his example, but he wasn’t really waiting for me. I was keeping levels, so I’d never be more than 2-3 levels higher than the quests on normal, which means I was often xp capped. I was hating my toon. She was a healbot and a crappy one. I couldn’t melee, I was crappy caster, and I had to avoid aggro so I wouldn’t die. Basically that’s what I was doing, hiding too avoid aggro and just healbotting. I remember trying Diplomatic impunity elite at lvl 10, and party wiped in the first scorpion attack. Not because I wasn’t trying, but because I ran out of mana and we all died. Instead we ran a tough Dreams of insanity which required a few re-entries.

Thazara Nov 2011 Thazara Nov 2011

Reincarnation
I was hating my cleric. She sucked badly at everything. I went on the forums asking for help, first considering adding a level of fighter: Cleric/fighter, then deciding to LR her: Lesser Reincarnation – build help, only to change my mind again and finally decide to do a greater reincarnation as soon as I got enough favor to unlock the 32p build. I did so at lvl 11 and GR’d after taking lvl 12. Taking in a lot of advice from the ppl on the forums, I changed Thaz into a caster with melee fallback.

Even though I now had a well built toon, I still didn’t know how to play her efficiently. I didn’t have my hot bars sorted and I wasn’t using hot keys. So, I asked Firesmall_at for help. He gave me a lot of suggestions on gear and how to arrange my hot keys (I didn’t copy, except for changing R from auto run to self target, which I thought was smart), and how to play as well as posting his UI: Divine- ur screenshot of your UI hotkeys and shortcuts. ๐Ÿ™‚ This did help me a lot.

For a while I was refusing the healer role, though. I was first and foremost caster, healer second. I had a bit of an attitude, which almost caused us to wipe in A Relic of a Sovereign Past. I soon realised that I have to play healer first, everything else comes second.

End game plans
My plans for Thazara was to take her to 20 and keep her there as a support toon for other chars. But at lvl 15 I started thinking of trying to make her end game ready. I was getting comfortable with my toon. ๐Ÿ™‚ So I went on the forums again, asking if this would be possible. First life cleric need advice. Again I was given a lot of good advice, and I got more focused. I decided to farm for the blue dragon scale robe (My name is Thazara), and thanks to Andy (who I befriended around that time), I got it at lvl 18, which was around last Crystal Cove. I was reluctant to run cove at first, but then ended up farming it a lot and then taking lvl 20. During cove I also entered my first epic quest, which was Lords of Dust. (Check out: Photo shoot)

During cove I met a cleric who was telling me that Thazara will never be allowed into high lvl raids for being melee fallback, and that I should have better gear etc etc. This got me kind of mad. I mean, just because u have sertain plans, like raids and stuff, doesn’t mean I have to rush to play the same way. My main plan with Thazara was to collect favor, and to run every quest on level.

Raids and epics
I didn’t run my first shroud until Thaz was lvl 20. I was still collecting favor (still had all quests lvl 17-20 to run), and was more interested in that, than running raids. I did run a few epics, though, and I was enjoying that. My irl friend had scared me, telling me epics are really hard. Well yes, the old epics were hard, without tactics. With a good party and good tactics, they weren’t. I soon started running shroud once a week, and then Andy started telling me to lead shroud. I was pretty intimidated at first, but I think must have gone well, as I started doing it weekly. I had to check my old blogs to see what else happened. Here’s one from June: Thazara and epics.

Around the time when I started to feel Thaz could do elite shroud, that’s when I met Cleazy. ๐Ÿ™‚ He joined one of my “elite or hard depending on party” shrouds as one of my healers. I remember us trying elite, wiping and running again on hard. Here’s the post about my first time running with Cleazy: Give me my Shroud completion! โ€ฆ and epics.

Thazara the goddess
I bought the prepack of MotU base pack (as VIP I felt that’s all I needed), and picked Unyielding Sentinel as Thaz’s first ED. I was loving it. I took US to lvl 5, then switched to Exalted Angel. Wasn’t loving it as much, even though it gave me more sp. I think I had leveled both to 5 before Thaz got lvl 25, but now I have unlocked a few twist slots and I’m loving my toon and the ED’s. Yes, she’s not as good as some, but she’s mine, I know her and I like her. As I level more ED’s she will get even better. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have also gotten comfortable leading raids, even though I still don’t know VON. ๐Ÿ™‚ My 3 regular raids are Shroud, ADQ ad ToD. I will lead VoD, HoX and Reaver’s as well. The rest I only join, not lead, even though I probably shrould start doing that as well.

I’m sorry about the too long post again. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for reading and have a great rest of the week.

Peace, out.

P.S. I played as f2p for 2 months, then got frustrated by not being able to run the syndicate chain or open elite, so I thought to myself “either I go p2p or quit playing”. I asked my friend about his vip subscription, and decided to go for it. I pay every 3 months.

13 comments on “Thazara’s Story –>Dec 11, 2012

  1. Cool. I bet everyone started as a gimp with their first toon (I know I did).

    I find raids very fun, but I still can’t dream of leading one. You sound like the perfect raid leader. Almost perfect…if only you were on Khyber…

    Anywho, I’m glad you got through that initial rough patch so we can all enjoy your blog (and for the very lucky ones group with you) ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh my God! I was like … no it can’t be, the story is there ๐Ÿ˜€ And what a treat it was! Thank you Micki, you really spoil us with the increasing number of posts you are having lately. Keep it up! I am really happy that you posted the story.

    Thaz walked a rough road, I am truly impressed. I for one played like 10 clerics (deleted all except one since I tested different things on my own skin) before settling for my actual cleric (who was once GR and once LR) who I am very comfortable with. I will TR him though once I will have the time for it just to get 36 points.

    You did an excellent job with Thaz and as you said it is your girl and doesn’t need to be identical with other “perfect” clerics to rock content and be able to tackle each and all the quests in this game. Well done for having the strength to prove your point! Much like Even does with her artificer ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thaz the Goddess really made an impact on every decent person she encountered as you can see by yourself. I am glad you are happy with her and I hope we will continue to witness her amazing achievements. I raise a mug (literally!) to her success and to the bright future ahead. Cheers! ๐Ÿ™‚

    P.S. Please continue to spoil us. We all love to purr when you expect less ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. awesome read, ty for that Micki, i bet the apprentice has now surpassed her master

    Agree with Adi but Sarlona needs you more ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. After seeing the title I thought it will be an RP story of your character, turned out to be quite different ๐Ÿ™‚ Nicely written though! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Coolness Micki. The journey of a toon from gimp to goddess is an interesting one. And its amazing what you learn along the way. Yay.

  6. @Adiurd ๐Ÿ™‚ aww. ty.

    @Dom ty ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Malinza ๐Ÿ™‚ u spoil me. Teehee. Love ur feedback. Thank you. I am going to try and write about the other toons soon, but it will not be as interesting.

    @legend teehee. Well, as a matter of fact, that’s what Firesmall_at told me, that I’ve surpassed him, which I think is really cool.

    @dea ๐Ÿ™‚ teehee. Well, I’m a perfectionist. I have come to understand that in DDO all toons have their limitations that u have to live with, but for me to be able to enjoy myself, my toon needs to be able to do what I set him/her up to do. So, I’d rather spend more time at the drawing board, than do a lot of re-fixes. ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Naniel ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, I considered doing that, but felt it wouldn’t give Thaz justice. Even though I can write RP style, it’s not something what comes naturally to me.

    @recastle ๐Ÿ™‚ ty

  7. very nice story. Reading your path from gimp to a toon you like and rocks gives not so frequent players as me a reassuring feeling that it is normal to stumble and stand up again.

  8. Hehe. My first toon ever was Healthraiser (now is Komraiser).
    His story was basically just like yours, only thrice as embarrassing xD.
    I was about level 12 when I heard about PrE enhancements, I rerolled him countless of times. I ungimped him later with GR heart xD. Even then he was still a certifiable healbot but with his help I managed to gear out Komrad =)

    PS. I โค U

      • Renamed him b/c no longer a cleric and be recognizable as one of Komrad’s alt. He is mid TR atm and will be 12 mnk/6pal/2ftr soon :P. I have other 3 alts that you’ve never seen, All of them are sitting at level 20 and have barely done anything yet.

      • ๐Ÿ™‚ I play 5 toons weekly. I have a lvl 4 f2p cleric that is the guild leader of my bank guild. But except for my bladeforged and banks, I don’t have any toons that just sit. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

