DDO marathon

Note: marathon, means marathon. This is going to be long. lol

Friday was a night off from DDO for me, due to work xmas party (yes, kind of early, I know). Saturday I did a bit of household chores, then logged on to DDO at 7pm, which is a lot earlier than I usually play on Saturdays. Plan was to play til early Sunday morning. πŸ™‚

Early evening
So, I logged on and checked the lfm. Nothing good on. Alright, so I was missing some mats (four) for the gs scimitar I was going to make for Thaz, and they all drop in Let the sleeping dust lie, so headed over there to do a quick normal. On the way there I saw an lfm for The Chronoscope epic elite, and sent the leader a tell, that if they need a healer I’ll join once they have a bit more ppl, that I’ll run vale for mats until then. I got a reply a while later asking me how long, and I replied that I’ll drop the quest and join.

Joining the party, I told the group what I was still missing, and one guy gave me 3 of the missing mats. πŸ™‚ Party entered chrono, one guy realises he’s on timer and drops but we get a replacement pretty quickly. We’re only 2 healers and the second cleric has only about 1600sp, on which I have to comment to the party leader “ee with 2 healers and second only has 1600sp?”. Leader says that he (a rogue) is third healer and that plan is no optionals. And invisi run to the bank. Well guess someone didn’t listen, because as soon as the barrier goes down, someone starts fighting, I take damage and lose invisibility and when running to the bank we hit orange dungeon alert. I try to heal, but fail and me, the other cleric and one of the casters die just outside the bank. We’ve got lots of mobs waiting outside the bank, so the ppl who try to get us die as soon as they step outside the bank. Release and restart.

Second try we get as far as the very first fight, when lag hits us so bad that no one can really do anything, and we wipe. Some ppl in the party suggest that we run on hard instead of elite, and I’m not too keen on that. I don’t really need anything from chrono, I just wanted to run an epic elite raid. Half of the party has also left at this point, and I’m checking the lfm for something else. When I see one for CitW normal, I say thank you, but I’m going to jump on the CitW party.

Caught in the Web (eN)
I tell the party I’ve never run this one before, and I’m told it’s ok, that the leader is really good and has run it 20+ times. I am a bit confused as to where the quest entrance is, but once I make my way there it’s ok. πŸ™‚ Group is cool and funny, but I am a little bit annoyed with the fact that a couple of ppl have echoing microphones, i.e. when u or someone else talk, it echoes through their microphone. First try, we get as far as the first jump down. I jump, freeze and die. I’m still falling for a few minutes after dying. Then the other healer dies and then the bard. πŸ™‚ It’s a lag freeze again. Release and restart.

Second try’s a bit better. We have the odd lag, but nothing major. I am a bit confused about what to do, so I’m just healbotting following the party around. I’ve been previously told that this quest is very not healer friendly, but with the bard keeping mana regen songs going, and the other healer being an fvs, I never even get close to running out. I actually even pass on resting at the second shrine, because I’m at full mana. We have some deaths, but over all I thought it was a smooth and easy run. Loot is kind of moot, though, the only cool thing I get is Pinion, Cloud-piercer, but since it would be BtC and I have no TR plans for Thaz I put it for roll. Ppl roll, but then they want pixie to have it, so I give it too her. πŸ™‚ Got some happy cheers.

CitW CitW 2

Is it just me, or does Lolth’s boobs always seem to be in ur face? lol

ToD (hard + opt)
After CitW I send Neugash a tell that I’m gonna do ToD, so he joins the lfm as soon as I put it up. Third person to join is a wiz who says he can do shadow tank, so I remove the “need shadow tank” from the lfm. I get ppl pretty quickly, but I don’t realise that our shadow tank leaves, so we’re up to 11 ppl, with no shadow tank when Neg tells me “so who’s shadow tank?”. I’m like “well.. oh, crap”. lol. πŸ™‚ Last spot I reserve for a shadow tank, and we wait a little while, but I get a good one. I’m feeling confident taking control of the raid, we get to phase 1, when we lag freeze and wipe. Meh. What’s this, 3rd lag wipe today? Release, rebuff and restart. This time around we lag a little bit less and have a semi smooth run (smooth otherwise, but some lag still). Ppl do a good job, even though I’m a bit annoyed with the one tank who doesn’t communicate at all (he’s a good tank, he just doesn’t reply when u ask him stuff). I don’t get any good loot, but the rogue gets a +3 int tome, which is pretty nice. πŸ™‚ Someone also got hair dye. lol

Shroud (elite)
After ToD Neugash stays on and we’re considering running eDA. But seeing as it’s only 40 mins to midnight, I decide to craft my gs scimitar instead. I get the last base mat from Neug, and then add the two shards I had previously crafted. Now only need to craft tier 3. πŸ™‚

I put up the lfm for elite shroud, and Jal joins, I get a caster, invite Niv, then get a healer. I get a monk and then a thrid healer and then a 4th hits the lfm. πŸ™‚ It’s funny how some days we wait for healers for a long time, other times I have to turn healers down. I want 3 healers for elite shroud, no more, no less. I have duo healed elite phase 5 with Cleazy, but it was pretty tough. More than 3 healers and u most likely loose some dps, and I want a lot of dps for elite. I get some ppl I know, and then reserve the last two spots for melee. And in we go.

Shroud is a bit laggy, but we manage. Shroud’s always laggy, but with mabar everything has been more laggy. Neug dies in phase 4 round 2, because he refused to jump out when the blades were closing in. πŸ™‚ We run a bit low on sp in phase 4, while phase 5 is pretty smooth. I don’t think we had any deaths and Thaz still has over 100sp left when Harry goes down.

Shroud Shroud 2

ADQ (eN + eH)
Still no sign of Cleazy πŸ™‚ I put up an lfm for eADQ pre norm, raid hard, and head over to it with Jal. Again I forget to talk to the djinni and have to recall. I get 3 casters and then Tornis asks me to reserv him a spot. A ranger hits the lfm and I ask if he’d like to start a second group. He tells me he’s never run it. Ok, that’s too bad, but we’re ip, so even if I’d give u the last spot in this group, u’d have no one to take u to it. We have a good preraid run and then head over to the raid. I figure we should be ok doing the raid on hard even with a 6 man group, since it’s a caster party. I’m using GMoF ED, and am rather squishy. I want Jal to tank, but he keeps getting over run and the casters get aggro. We get her down to less than 10% when it’s a wipe.

I ask the party if they want to try again, and everyone’s in. I put up an lfm for more ppl, but we don’t get anyone. I switch to US ED for better survivability, and in we go. This time I’m DoT’ing away and then at one point grab her aggro and keep her put for a while while blocking. I don’t remember now if we had any deaths, but this time around we finish without too much problems. Crappy loot, but at least I got a token.

ADQ ADQ 2

Ascension Chamber (hard)
Neug sends me a tell to come join Abbot, but at that time I’m ip running ADQ. I ask if it’s a good group and he tells me “Item” is an excellent Abbot leader. Party fills before I can join, but a while later I see that they’re running again. Neug would have run but he didn’t have any toon off timer. I join this run. Thaz has her Atonement blade that I bought from AH just for this raid months ago. Haven’t run Abbot since, though. Run is good, but not excellent. I do well getting off the platform when inferno is called, but second time I jump back my heal fails and I die. Other than that I’m running around killing undead with the Atonement blade and bursts. The other healer raises ppl. πŸ™‚ Well he had prolly twice as much mana as me anyway (an fvs). This was my first hard completion (only a normal completion before this), so I got some favor.

Abbot

Before starting I wanted to take a pic of the companion animals, lol. Forgot to take any action pics.

Taking a break
Right after finishing Abbot, Cleazy logs on. This is at a little before 3am my time. I sit down and talk to him for a while, then dicide I could run some stuff with him still, instead going to bed.

Thazara

This is a bit strange. If u look at last week’s before ADQ pic and this one, Thaz is sitting in both, but she is sitting differently.

VON (eN + eH)
I tell Cleazy that I haven’t run VON yet, so he puts up an lfm and we get going (he’s on his wizard since the other toons are on timer). Again I’m running around as confused as always, just looking for loot. πŸ™‚ I always run VON with Cleazy now, and he knows it well, while I’ve never learned the objectives or where to even go. I don’t even know where all the chests are. I did get 4 chests in VON5, though and 38k xp. In VON6 I’m put on wind which confuses me, since I’m always on ice, lol. I barely make it to wind before it’s time to d-door and head to boss fight. I think we have one person die in the boss fight, and I feel like we’re a bit low on dps, but what do I know. It’s still pretty smooth and we finish quickly. And this time I get a scale. Yay! πŸ™‚

eVON

The High Road (eH)
After VON I again get a pick of what to do, and I say I want to run the U16 quests. Cleazy gives me the star, but I give it back. I tell him “I’ve lead 3 raids today, I don’t want to lead anymore”. πŸ™‚ He doesn’t know the quests, but he does the lfm and we start with Rest stop. We get at least a couple of ppl that know the quests and we have good runs. Thaz is using her gs scimitar, which is still pretty nice for being a tier 2 (Thaz is not a melee toon, so I don’t really have any good melee weapons for her). I was meleing and casting, and I love umbral rats. πŸ™‚ I mean, I think Thaz is awesome, but I saw her burst hit an ubral rat for 1,337 points of positive damage. That if something is awesome. And that was without using the healbot sceptre.

We run Rest stop, Detour, Lost in the Swap and A stay at the Inn. In the inn one of the shadows gets stuck in the wall and we can’t finish. A ticket is sent.. or I think Cleazy said he sent as many as he was allowed. Lol. We wait until everyone’s fed up, then restart. A mod gets back to us just as we’re ip on the rerun. This time we finish without problems.

Rest Stop Detour
Lost in the swamp A stay at the inn

While on the way to A stay at the inn, I notice something. The “pet wolves” we encounter look exactly like my pet pup! 😦 We just killed Devastator’s mommy. That’s just wrong.

Pet wolf

The final, The end of the road, goes pretty well until the the boss fight. Boss fight starts, I get thrown and lag. I have no idea what’s going on or where I am, but I know I’m dead. I get a raise but can barely take it. Lag passes and we get back to it. Boss is pretty annoying, keeps teleporting around and we spend as much time looking for him as fighting him. lol. Other than that it’s a smooth run.

The dungeon master says something about a portal opening above us (before the boss fight starts), so I look up and take a picture. πŸ™‚

Portal The end of the road

It’s after 7 in the morning and I’m pretty tired. I spend some time cleaning inventory and pick up my Harper Pin that I just got enough favor for. Thaz got 4364 favor with tonights runs, US 5 rank 24, EA 5 rank 21, GMoF 3 rank 14 and with that Shadowdancer and Legendary Dreadnought opened up. I will most likely take GMoF to lvl 5 before leveling the next, though.

Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day or start of the week.

Tl;dr Just look at the pictures. πŸ™‚

8 comments on “DDO marathon

  1. Micki are you trying to set a record for the most quests run in a single day? πŸ˜€ Your dedication is impressive since I for once would be sleeping on the keyboard at 7 am. I barely make 3 am and that only in a good weekend, but mostly by piking hehe πŸ™‚

    Congratulations on all the loot (yay dragon scale!) and too bad lag sort of killed part of the fun.

    Mabar will be gone soon so everyone rejoice! This leads me to the question: no more Mabar for you? 😦 I hope you did managed to finish the items you wanted though!

    To be honest I too used the +25% epic experience opportunity to level a bit my dwarven cleric and managed to reach level 4 in Exalted Angel ED. It is only the first pick so not really any accomplishment here.

  2. πŸ™‚ What was that…

    – 2 tries of echrono; no completion
    – 2 tries of CitW: completion
    – 2 tries of ToD: completion
    – Shroud: completion
    – 2 (actually 3 since one guy got stuck in the wall so we had to restart the raid) eADQ: completion
    – Abbot: completion
    – eVON: completion
    – The high road chain – 5 quests.

    πŸ™‚ I have to most time to play on sat nights, so I try to make the most out of it. If I only learned to zerg, I could get even more done. Teehee.

    πŸ™‚ Mabar? No more Mabar. I farmed it last time around and got all the stuff I wanted + a lvl 12 cloak for my druid. I didn’t make anything for Thaz, since she’s wearing a gs cloak.

Leave a Reply

