Thinking about switching guild

As I might have mentioned in a previous post, Cleazy wanted me to switch guilds, to move my toons from Legends of Orien, to Disorderly Conduct. Legends of Orien is a huge guild, with over 500 accounts, and is more or less stuck on around lvl 61. Disorderly Conduct is a more exclusive guild, only 15 accounts, all active and is gaining renown fast. Currently lvl 72. After some convincing from Cleazy, I moved Maidae and Cerge to DC a couple of weeks ago, while I wanted to keep Thazara in LoO for now. I also recently moved Jarvanna to LoO.

Now, as Cleazy wants me to move all my toons into his guild, I’m having to consider the pros and cons of doing so. What do I want from my guild?

Legends of Orien

Pros:
– there’s always people online to talk to in guild chat
– officers and leader are all helpful and friendly
– with the gold seal amenities we got, the ship currently has all the buffs I want and all 3 gs altars
– I have friends in the guild
– because of the large amount of ppl, there’s often guild raids
– when looking for ppl to fill my raids, I can ask in guild chat

Cons:
– because of the large number of members, the guild will never reach high levels
– guild raids are only random (as in not scheduled)
– the guild is very casual
– once we run out of gold seal amenities, we will lose some of the better buffs and the lvl 3 navigator

Disorderly Conduct

Pros:
– small guild
– all accounts are active
– the guild is getting small guild renown bonus and leveling fast
– the ship has a good amount of buffs, even if it’s still missing second gs altar
– the ship is not reliant on gold seal amenities for it’s buffs

Cons:
– no guild raids
– I don’t know anyone but Cleazy
– small guild, very few ppl online at the same time as me

Now, what do I want from my guild? Well to be honest, the most important thing to me is ship and buffs. πŸ™‚ But friendly guildies to talk to is nice too. I mostly pug, so the lack of guildies to run with isn’t that much of a problem. I am an active player and I run raids every week. I have been asked before why I don’t join a high level raiding guild, but the truth is, that I don’t like their rules. I don’t want to be in a guild where you’re required to participate in guild activities or pay a monthly fee for ship maintenance.

πŸ™‚ I actually think it’s highly likely that I will move Thazara to DC. Well, if Cleazy actually makes an effort to run with me every week. Oh, yes, I’m not that hard to persuade, lol! Guild is high enough level, and if one person promises to run with me a few times a week, that’s more than I’m getting in LoO. But before this I will use my gold seal amenities on the LoO ship. πŸ™‚

I don’t know yet if I will move Jarvanna, though. I suggested to my sis that we move our toons to LoO, and I think she might like it, being as social as she is.

Ok, that’s some random thoughts from me.

Tc and see you in game.

13 comments on “Thinking about switching guild

  1. Ive always prefered small guilds, just like feeling part of it, where i know the members, with large ones thats not always the case im guessing its broken down into smaller groups of friends

    Sure it would be nice to have a guild raid but as you said you dont mind pugging

  2. πŸ™‚ I’ve only been an active player since last Xmas. I joined LoO around the same time, because I was guildless and they were recruiting. They claimed to be newbie and casual friendly and that sounded perfect, so I asked for an invite. Took me some time to start talking to people, but now I’m following guild chat whenever I’m not doing anything specific and I’ve sometimes joined guildies in runs (seldom, though). Oh, and I have had guildies join my lfm’s too. Being a large guild, I am usually able to get someone for my raids.

    If I leave LoO, I will not have that anymore. But at the same time, I don’t see that as a problem. I’m not an active guildie anyway. πŸ™‚

  3. FInding the right guild is hard. I would bet being on the wrong server would make it really hard.

    πŸ™‚

    Sarlona rules!

  4. Yeh Samius is correct, Sarlona rules πŸ˜€

    I only started around february, my first guild was a random invite, no idea why i joined just thought it would have been cool, the guild was average size but there wasnt much going on so when i started running with someone on a regular basis i asked if i could join their’s.

    That guild has less that 10 accounts but over time i got to know them and felt like a member, due to time difference to i wasnt questing with them enough so joined another small guild with someone of the people i was questing with.

  5. What would be best if LoO would clean out the overly inactive accounts and let it start gaining levels. I was extremely entertained during the period where LoO got a worldwide announcement for hitting 60 EVERYDAY. πŸ™‚

  6. πŸ™‚ I like Orien. My very first toon I actually made on Sarlona, but I’ve deleted her.

    @Zendikar πŸ™‚ Kaang does remove players regularly. The rule is; lvl 1-4 toons get removed after 2 weeks, lvl 5+ after 1 month of inactivity. But we still have about 100 inactive accounts. Also, kicking people loses us a lot of renown.

  7. @Comic XD I don’t believe u’ve ever run anything with me.

    @Domfig πŸ™‚ I don’t need to be in the same guild as my friends, actually most of them are not.

  8. A good fun guild with chatty people in AND online when you are is not to be sniffed at. If they are friendly and helpful, thats all i’d look for. Unless you just want raids.

  9. No, I haven’t – yet. *BUT* I have been on at the same time as you – once. Right now, I don’t have a toon in your level range (7, 21, and 25), but as you guys get closer to 20, I will (hehehe).
    πŸ˜‰

  10. @Kwychang the problem is that both LoO and DC are mainly american, most people are online when I’m sleeping. If I wanted to switch to a guild with chatty people online when I am, I’d have to pick an European one (like maybe Crusaders of Justice – friend’s guild).

    I have thought about switching to a raid guild, because I’d like to do a lot more raids, and especially the ones I haven’t done yet, but I don’t want to be required to run them.

    @Comic πŸ™‚ Yes, I know, I’ve talked to u a little (I remember asking about ur nickname). πŸ™‚ We currently have one spot open in the party that is usually filled by a hireling. Mizzaroo had the spot for one run last week. We’ve been gaining XP pretty fast, about 1 level per week (note to readers, we only run once a week).

Leave a Reply

