Aah! Gear!

😦 I thought I had it all figured out. I just got my unsuppressed Vibrant purple ioun stone and here’s what I had planned:
Swap
Greater cunning trinket –> Unsuppressed Vibrant Purple Ioun stone
Archmagi pirate hat –> Minos Legends
Alchemist’s Pendant –> Symbol of the Shining Sun
Heavy Fort Belt –> Belt of the Sun Soul

But but but… What I didn’t realize was that 1. the cunning trinket gives me +50 stacking sp. 2. Alchemists Pendant gives me +20 stacking hp. So, Doing my planned swap, I end up with the same hp as before and -50 sp 😦

Gear before swap:
Armor: Blue Dragonscale Robe
Head: archmagi hat, concentration+15
Neck: Alchemist’s Pendant
Trinket: Greater Cunning Trinket
Cloak: Magewright’s Cloak
Belt: Belt of the sun soul –> Heavy fort after buff
Gloves: Purple Dragon Gauntlets
Boots: Boots of propulsion
Bracers: Bracelet of Madness
Goggles: Concordant opposition gs goggles
Ring1: Greater false life
Ring2: Epic Ring of the Buccaneer tier 2
Shield: Epic Swashbuckler (Light) tier 2
Main hand: Epic Ornamented Dagger tier3 / Epic Brigand’s Cutlass (Scimitar) tier 2

Before I can swap out Alchemist’s Pendant, I need to make a tier 3 hp gs cloak, and before I can swap out my current cloak and use Signet of the Shining Sun, I need to upgrade my Ring of the Buccaneer to tier 3 and add greater false life to it.

Darn, that I didn’t realize that I was running around with +250 sp, and not just 200. And now I have a bound ioun stone that I might not even use. 😦 I did know there was sp on the cunning trinket, but I didn’t think it would drop my sp under 2000.

Thaz is lvl 21, currently EA 0, buffed with current gear 440 hp and something like 2050 sp (with the sun soul belt). If I swap back to US she’ll still have around 2000 sp but 640 hp. Call me shallow and elitist, but I want the +2000 sp and I want as much hp as I can get. Remember, Thaz is an elf with starting con 12, so she’s already an underdog there.

Maybe I’ll just have to put heavy fort on the gs cloak, keep using my archmagi hat and skip minos.

Over and out from Orien.

9 comments on “Aah! Gear!

  1. I had to lose the 20hp from minos and get a hvy fort ring so I could wear the pdk helm for the +2 insightful strength. The str boost has helped more then the 20hp did tbh.

  2. 😦 I’m really bummed out over it, because my friend gave me the Vibrant Purple one, and now I’m not gonna even use it. I should have given the stone to Cerge instead, since he’s gonna TR and could use it at lvl 5 already.

    New plan:
    Keep cunning trinket and archmagi hat, make gs hp cloak with heavy fort. Get spidersilk robe with Wizardry IX and Potency+72.

  3. Items and the choices they force us to make! But I guess that is a good thing, or else there would be to many Darwinian Demons running around the game. Item planning is very complicated for me, since there are so many choices, but also very fun! When I can’t play, I’m planning 🙂

  4. Always difficult choices

    You have the blue dragonscale robe who gives the potency and a better arcane lore than bot dagger and bracelet. If you want to keep it, then maybe you can change the others.

    The dagger only gives the maximize thing over the robe.
    The bracer gives +2 on evocation.

    Maybe you can look in Auction for a fresh new blue border main hand item that add evocation mastery/maximize, so you free the bracer slot.

    Then if you need to keep the trinket/hat, you can use a Thaarak Bracelet to add toughness.

    Or use minos, the ioun stone and get a Bracers of the Sun Soul for wis +7 and +4 to all saves and AC, the +2 con you already have from the purple knight gloves so no extra hp here). This way you loose the 50sp

    Other good option is change the robe for the Breastplate of the Shining Sun, that gives thougness, get the shining signet ring so you have the set benefit that gives 10% discount on spells. Surely 10% of your sp is much more than the 50sp you lose.

    Then keep bracelet or maybe keep the dagger (and add greater false life to the yellow slot, to substitute the ring you’re changing).

    But there are so many options that maybe I messed all around.

    Cya, and take care.

  5. 🙂 ty for your advice 🙂 I do use the dagger when casting, but since I do a lot of melee+casting mixed, I would prefer to not have spell boosts on weapons. I’d like a spidersilk robe, though.

  6. Like Thoriek suggested, I use the 3 piece Cleric of Aumanator set from the Commendation trade-ins. I lose 20HP from dropping the Epic Cavalry Plate with Superior False Life, but I feel the 10% SP discount is worth the trade.

    Toughness on the Breastplate of the Shining Sun also keeps me helm slot free from having to use Minos (Alchemist’s Crown currently, until something better drops in my lap), with Heavy Fortification on my MinII GS goggles.

  7. 🙂 I think I’d prefer a spidersilk robe to the breastplate, I really like being able to tumble 🙂 Is the 10% reduction really that much? I mean, e.g. a 50 sp spell would only be reduced by 0.5 sp.

    But, yes, my next plan is to make this: GS cloak and this: GS Scimitar

  8. It would be 5 SP as opposed to 0.5.

    Look at your total pool of SP. Take 10% of that. It’s almost like having that much more SP to use. It makes a difference when you don’t have Favored Soul sized SP pools to dip into.

Leave a Reply

