First elite Shroud completed

I had decided that this Saturday I was going to put up an lfm for an elite shroud. Previously I had done “hard or elite depending on party”, but I realized that there is a difference between people who can do hard and people who can do elite. If I want elite, I need to lfm for elite. I got a nice group with mostly melee, 4 barbs, 1 fighter (I think), 1 monk, 1 ranger, 1 sorc, 1 wiz, 1 fvs and another cleric. Dps was good. πŸ™‚ Part 1-2 went pretty flawlessly and part 3 went really smoothly. Part 4 took two rounds, but no deaths. I have only had one run before this where there were no deaths in part 4.

In part 5 it felt like we had some troubles taking out the reds, but they were jumping around so that might have been it (I was running after a couple of them, lol). Ranger parked the ellie, who was a stoney fella this time. πŸ™‚ And off we go. I was offensive casting and healing, wasn’t paying much attention to the other healers, only that I was in range and that my target wasn’t blocked. Two of the barbs dropped and I raised them. I chugged a pot and kept offensive casting and yay! down goes Harry, and we got 4 chests! πŸ™‚ And I got my elite favor.

Before the run I had a lvl 17 ranger send me a tell asking me about it, if he could join. Tells me he has only 300 hp, and claims to be able to save against Harry’s comets. I reply that they hit for about 300 and that I’ve seen monks drop. Except for the wizard who is a guildie and I know he is pretty tough even with around 350 hp, I will expect people to have 400+ hp for an elite shroud, preferably more. I don’t know rangers, but I imagine their evasion isn’t as good as rogues’ and monks’? And then this person asked if I could help him out with a ranger build. πŸ™‚ Lol. I replied, I do not know rangers, that he’d be better off checking wiki and the forums.

πŸ™‚ You know, I’m starting to like having the star in Shroud. πŸ™‚ It means I get to make the rules. Not that shroud requires much leading, but things like waiting for people who dc’d and such. I was very pleased with my group today. Everyone listened and followed the simple rules; in phase 2 – don’t kill the reds until all are prepped, in phase 4 – leave one of the devils until all blades are gone and in phase 5 – someone parks the ellie while the rest buff and get their mana back. And we had 2 people dc and I told the party to wait. And they did. πŸ™‚ Oh and with -99% xp I still got 11 k in today’s run. πŸ™‚ pretty cool.

So, seems like I’ll be doing this regularly from now on. Saturday and elite shroud. πŸ™‚

Tc and see you in game.

12 comments on “First elite Shroud completed

  1. Gratz on the elite shroud, i did my first hard run last week

    Sounds like it was a good run, althought i do like reading about quests that get messy πŸ™‚

  2. I believe evasion is evasion, whether it’s a ranger, rogue, or monk. And with only 1d8 to work with, rangers will have lower HP than fighters and their sub-classes. I’m not saying “you should have”, but rather “don’t always judge by HP”. But then, what do I know? Hehehe.
    πŸ˜‰

    Still, nice run – way to go!
    πŸ˜‰

  3. Congrats! i’m hoping to do my first elite (on my ranger, HAH) tomorrow night.

    And evasion is evasion is evasion, it’s all the same. Rangers get pretty decent reflex saves, too.

  4. πŸ™‚ ty guys.

    Well monks and rogues get improved evasion, while rangers get only evasion. Which means that this ranger would have to make 3 successful reflex saves in a row or risk dying on the spot (and as I don’t know this person, I say his odds are against him).

    πŸ™‚ If this person has doubts about his toon, and is even asking me for build advice, he is not elite shroud ready. Also, it is simple maths, I have better chances at keeping the party alive if everyone has a lot of hp, gives me a bit more time to get hose heals out before someone dies.

    πŸ™‚ Funnily enough, we had 2 barbs at about 1100 hp. One of them died. There’s definitely a difference in people’s saves, some has nice saves others take a lot of damage quickly. πŸ™‚ Now-a-day I remember to ask people if they need fire resist, because I’ve seen the difference when people don’t have it.

  5. I do not know about participating in an Elite Shroud, but one thing I have observed while running raids, is that with a good group, it will seem that Elite is easier to finish than normal. Taking the free raid, Tempest Spine, I have been in ‘on level’ groups that breeze right through the raid on Elite (no deaths at all), and then the same group has multiple deaths along the way on NORMAL. It is not only the skill of the players, but all the intensity of which they play, and sometimes we all get complacent while running raids/quests on Normal.

    Congrats on the Elite completion.

  6. πŸ™‚ I have no experience in the matter, since the only raid I’ve run on multiple difficulties is Shroud. And in Shroud the easier the difficulty the more noobs you get, and the more messy it is. I have yet to lead a normal shroud and I’m a bit intimidated by it. I will most likely lfm for one once Cerge is flagged, unless I can find another group doing it.

    Oh, and thank you.

  7. Well everyone needs fire resist in part 5, I’m always bugging people about who is giving FR, FOM, masses, etc.

    Congrats!

  8. BTW – rogues do not “get” improved evasion. They *can* select it (and most probably do) as one of their ‘special abilities’, but it is not one they get “for free”. Monks do get IE at level 9, but rogues have to wait until at least level 10 to select it (mine actually took ‘slippery mind’ first). Just sayin’…
    πŸ˜‰

  9. πŸ™‚ good to know. I’ve never played a rogue or ranger. I just have Maidae, and she’s got IE πŸ™‚ Monks are tough for sure XD, a party member in eADQ killed something with a scroll, lol.

Leave a Reply

