Saturday gaming

Finally it was Saturday and Thazara’s game time. It’s been almost a week. I had planned to finally do some favor clean up, but oh, those epic tokens (well fragments) are so attractive. On the lfm I see epic normal Partycrashers. I join only to realize I thought they were doing Snitch, silly me. But no worries, and hard’s fine. We had no cc, but a rogue, pally, fighter, arti and monk. We ended up doing the Snitch and Big Top as well, went more or less smoothy (for big top we got a clonk instead of one of the melees), except for the fact that me and the rogue hit a bad spot in the big top and both’s clients crashed. Oh, well, party waited and end fight went smoothly. Epic hard is definitely easier than the old epics. Last time I did Big top was before the update and we wiped twice πŸ˜€

Then yes, there’s an lfm for a hard Shroud. πŸ™‚ Thazara wants her weekly shroud completion. Party has one arti, an fvs and Thaz as healers, two bards, sorc, rangers, monk… I’m forgetting the rest. In part two we have to do it 3 times because of missed timing, but otherwise everything’s smooth until part 4. I mess up. Yes, me. When we’re killing the first two waves of trash and you’re supposed to save a devil until the blades are gone – this will keep any more trash from spawning when you’re fighting Harry. What do I do? I throw implosion. And you know the thing about implosion? It’s active for a whole 10 seconds, and it cannot be turned off. Which means, I of course wiped the floor with any mob who came within range. So, no devil saved, and a bunch of trash while we’re fighting Harry, which also meant, melees were spread out in the room. Bards drop, ranger drops, someone else drops. Healers are still standing. In the second round we manage to save a devil, and do not have to worry about trash. I’m actively offensive casting while I’m healing. I even get Harry aggro a few times. But here’s the sorta funny. I’m doing stacked divine punishment, hitting for, I don’t know 500-900? I am not aware of what the fvs is doing. When the melees jump out to avoid the blades, I throw a destruction and one more dp and watch how Harry’s hp bar keeps getting smaller. Will the dp be enough? People are preparing for his fireballs, but nope, they never come, because Harry is dead (well of course he’s not really dead since he returns in part 5)!

Now we have was it 4-5 people to raise, of which one has computer problem and does not get raised. In part 5 one of the bards dies twice. I raise both times. I also keep DoT’ing, and do chug a pot close to the end, to be able to keep going. But we are victorious. πŸ™‚ And afterwards the fvs, who was leader tells me “thank you for joining, you did good”. Yeah, maybe he was just being polite, who knows, but I’m always proud of myself when I manage to do my part, and we don’t wipe.

After this I see both Abbot and Reaver’s fate on the lfm, I pick Abbot just because I haven’t done it much (well not Reaver’s either, but Reaver’s is kinda dull). Let’s see, what’s worst? The fact that we wait forever to fill, or that there was a miscommunication from the scouts and everything went sideways? Second try I’m guessing it went better, but we failed on inferno, no one with a wand was fast enough to get us safe, and party more or less wiped. Third try I dc’d before we could start and when I get back the party has left and tells me that they left because they just kept dying. Well that was it for me anyway, too much waiting and me being pretty bored with it. One thing I learned though, is that there is only one item in DDO that protects wisdom spell casters (clerics, paladins, rangers) from being hit with Quells’ intercession, and that is Atonement. Quells’ intercession has not bothered me much in the past, since I can still burst and melee when it hits me, but this time in Abbot is was really causing me problems. I kept getting hit over and over and was unable to raise people. After the first run I got to borrow an Atonement sword from another player. I need to get my hands on a sword of my own if I plan to do any more Abbots.

I noticed someone I know a little having an lfm for King’s Forest much earlier, and he was still running when I left Abbot, so joined. Managed to collect 3 cleric commendations before he left and I was left party leader. Since someone had just joined before this, I didn’t want to leave, but put the lfm back up for more people. Party fills, and we’ve just gone back in when I get a tell from a guildie “eVON hard (raid), need healer”. And I’m like “but I have a pug for King’s Forest”. He replies “But it’s eVON! A chance to get SoS”. I feel silly for preferring collecting commendations to running eVON, so I decide to join. My first epic raid, as the second healer (we were only two, the other an fvs).

Everything goes pretty smoothly in VON5, and I get just over 70k xp πŸ™‚ pretty sweet. The only thing that annoyed me a little was that there was a wizard who was burning mana like crazy, had used up both shrines before we were heading up center, and then asks if I have divine vitality for her. I’m like really? Even if I had dv, what the heck are you gonna do with maybe 100 sp or less (if I had dv I would only have dv1 which gives you 3d4+10 sp per turn undead – and I would not give a person all my turns since I use them for heals)? When you were burning through over 2000 just cleaning trash? Running epic raids and asking for dv? Really? Really?

In VON6 I am told I’m on second healer duty, that when the fvs is down to 500 sp, I’m suppose to step up. I’m not used to this kind of arrangement (I know it’s typical for eRaids), but I take my place behind the rock, block and keep aura going. I throw bursts at anyone joining me behind the rock. I believe the fvs is a bit in trouble, but I don’t respond until the leader says “Thazara, you’re gonna have to step in”. So I do, I throw a mass cure, then raise one-two people, bursts, heal and raise. When everyone’s back up, I start healing actively, not seeing how much hp the dragon has left, and am expecting to have to drink a pot. Nope, I still have like 400 sp left when the dragon’s beat and won. Yay! My first epic raid πŸ™‚

Note: We were a full party, a few people left before I took the picture

I stayed on in the party ’til last, just because I wanted to hear what the leader and a few others were talking about – they were talking about the fvs. Apparently the fvs was someone’s guildie and that’s why he had been allowed (or asked) to join. That he wasn’t really healing at first, that he’s probably new to the game and new to playing a healer. That he’s still learning. My guildie writes in the chat “but Thazara stepped up nicely”. πŸ™‚ Well, I’m happy that we were successful and that I didn’t do anything foolish in my first epic Raid. I am also pretty proud of my efforts, and that everyone was standing when the dragon dropped. But, I must say, I am pretty spoiled with the bursts. They are my self target mass that I use all the time. They are what keeps me from dropping, when I otherwise would, because I have them hot key’d to the scroll button on the mouse. I don’t have to think, I just press it when I start taking damage. πŸ™‚

Alright, that’s all folks. Tc and see you in game.
Peace out.

P.S. Tonight’s gaming gave me two ranks in my ED and the 3 AP’s I had to spend I used on Spark of life (deathblock) and Block energy 3 (While blocking, absorb 30% acid, cold, electric, fire, force, light and sonic damage.)

4 comments on “Saturday gaming

Leave a Reply

