Have I become elitist?

This is the blog I was going to write on Saturday, but was unable to because of the broken blog.

Someone told me a while back that there’s in his opinion too much elitism on the higher levels. So I’m wondering, have I become one of them?

I leveled Thazara to 21 and did my first lfm for Shroud on Saturday. And hard. I wrote on the lfm “hard shroud, pref min 400 hp”. I was told by someone joining that I should have asked for DR breakers, and when the third ranger joined the same person told me “no more rangers”. Well I wasn’t too worried, since everyone joining did have min 400 hp, and I got a second healer (Hey, I’m a caster, what do I know about dr breakers?). Party was mostly melee, with only one caster, a sorcerer. Part 1 went fine, but in part two we had to do it 3 times because someone killed one of the reds too fast 2 times. And the same person sending me tells earlier was like “organize them” to me. Fine. So I started yelling out orders. πŸ™‚ Do not kill, only prep, and pull all the reds here. Then when someone the third time killed one before the kill order, they were all more or less prepped anyway, so I just said “ok, kill” πŸ™‚

Part 3 went really well, and in part 4, even though I said to not kill the last devil, someone still took him out (I sorta saw it happening, but wasn’t sure if it was the last one). But no big, Harry dropped in two rounds and only one death, the bard. I got to do the raise for the first time (I haven’t wanted to do it before). Part 5 taking out the reds and the rogue parking the ellie also went fine, but when Harry arrived the sorc and the bard both dropped in one hit. I was like “seriously?” over voice. Someone told me to not raise, but after a while I raised them anyway. The sorc moved next to me and was getting aura heals. One hit from Harry and they both drop again. At this point I considered it a waste of mana to raise them, so I just let them be dead until the fight was over. Was that elitist of me?

Well actually, in my opinion it was the most logical option. πŸ™‚

After Shroud Thazara headed over to King’s Forest with her hireling Albus the fvs. And who doesn’t she meet but the green dragon Veraxiena πŸ™‚ Thazara doesn’t have any of the skills intimidate, bluff or diplomacy, at least not at any level that counts. She tries to use diplomacy, but Vera get’s angry, and attacks who? Albus! Muahaha! Thazara is standing at a more or less safe distance, blocking and throwing divine punishment with metas at Vera.

Check out the pics here:

Vera’s throwing poison at Thaz, but she just shakes it off. Albus on the other hand is constantly knocked on his behind πŸ™‚ And when Vera tries to attack, for some reason she get’s her head stuck in the dirt, lol. But when she’s down to maybe 1/5, she suddenly disappears, and I realize that she’s up in the air. Still within casting range, though. So a short while later we’ve beaten her. Too bad she didn’t drop down afterwards.

Thazara is about to continue through the forest, when she sees something. Vera’s treasure! Two treasure chests and loads of gold. She does a victory dance.

Victory dance

πŸ™‚ Here are Thazara’s current stats with Legends of Oriens ship buffs, own mass buffs (I buffed the hire as well) and barkskin. But no heroism or rage, and no minos:

Thazara stats July

The fortification’s showing as 40%, but it’s actually 140% πŸ™‚

Current tomes eaten: str+2, dex+1, con+2, int+3, wis+1, cha+2. A +2 wis tome would now make her wis even (I took wis +1 as epic feat), and I would love ToD +4 tomes πŸ™‚ Some day, some day maybe.

That’s all from Thazara for tonight.
Take care and see you in game.

P.S. Thazara stumbled into Underdark as well, and met earth and air elementals, but also driders and ooh, salamanders! πŸ™‚ I’m too tired to post any more pictures at the moment, though. Next time.

16 comments on “Have I become elitist?

  1. I wouldnt say so, i would never lead a raid, ever lol, so congrats on that

    If there getting killed in one shot, what can you do?, keep rezzing them and watching them die until the fight is over or leave them and keep everyone else alive, if i was getting ohko i wouldnt mind if i was left as a stone πŸ˜€

    I remember my first fight with the dragon lets just say mine wasnt the same outcome as your πŸ™‚

  2. Were you leading using voice, or just typing. I was in a ‘normal’ Shroud run recently, being lead through typing, and it was one of the worse runs I have ever been in. While we did not wipe, it seemed to be a series of idiotic moves after another. The only parts that went somewhat smoothly, was part 1 and 3.

  3. I know I have commented on elitism at the higher levels on more than one occasion. Its possible it was me.

    Was what you did elitist. Probably not but someone could see it that way. It depends on perspective. Had I saw the lfm, I probably would not have joined. But thats just me. My main toons have close to 600hp. Also, I probably would have kept raising the guys who died. They had the courage to join in on a hard shroud likely knowing it was a bit much for them, and if they didn’t maybe they will now. In any event they’d have had a big repair bill.

    I have been in situations where the raid leader has told the clerics not to raise me. It sucks and I felt really bad afterwards. It was a long time before I mustered the courage to join that raid again.

    Congrats though on leading a raid. It can be fun and equally intimidating as people look to you for direction. Though for shroud, unless you had someone who’d not done it before, it doesn’t really need leadership.

    Love the screenshots of Veraxiena. When she is that big in your screen, thats not safe distance. I hide behind the tree and duck out and dot the crap outta her from there. Keava has no choice to melee her though, but then again Veraxiena can’t knock Keava over either. So its a slugging match. Its rare for me to loose against her. Veraxiena just wants a cuddle but doesn’t know how to ask.

    All and all sounds like you had lots of fun and thats the aim of the game isn’t it.

    Take care,
    Keava

  4. @legend thank you πŸ™‚

    @PrdPolack πŸ™‚ for hard I assumed that people knew what they were doing (the reason I’ve started avoiding normal runs is because of a couple of bad experiences with too many newbies). But, yes, I had voice, but I was writing too. Mainly I asked in part 2 and 4, who’s doing crystal and who’s parking the ellie?

    @redcastle πŸ™‚ I guess it depends on who’s point of view. I agree that some people could see it as elitist, and not too long ago, I wouldn’t have joined a shroud either where they were making demands like that. But with the runs I’ve gained more confidence and I know my toon. πŸ™‚ Now, people with some demands on the lfm actually give me more confidence in them, that they know what they’re doing, and that they will get us smoothly through the raid.

    Thazara has so far 9 shroud completions (5 normal, 4 hard) and 5 fails. If I’m looking for a shroud completion (and usually I am), I don’t like setting myself up for failure. If most of the party is around 300 hp, then chances are we are not going to make it through a hard shroud. Also, I don’t like babysitting toons that need you to constantly throw them heals so they’re not going to die.

    πŸ™‚ And thank you.

    πŸ˜€ hehe, well I’m working on making my toon more and more sturdy. I want her to be able to stay put and block, and throw spells, while the mobs are hitting her or casting poison at her like Vera does. I prefer to bring a hire, because 1. if I need heals in battle, he will most likely take care of it (Albus has been working out well) and 2. they do draw some enemy aggro, which helps me when I’m casting. I will run around through blade barrier, or run to avoid getting hit if I have to, but I prefer to stay put and block, and let aura and hire heal me.

    As you can see in the combat window in my pics, Thazara was getting a lot of successful rolls πŸ™‚ (I didn’t even know she has concentration 50, and what is the 33 against poison? Spell resist?)

  5. Can’t comment on raids, because I don’t run them.

    So Yay! for the victory dance πŸ™‚ and Boo! for slaying the pretty Green Dragon 😦

  6. Heh, that was only half the argument. The point was not in whether its elitistic to heal or not to raise or the minimum hit point limit.

    The argument was that its elitist to judge (and decline) group members based on some single value such as hit points or ability to self-heal, just for the odds of succeeding in a mission. My claim was that I don’t care how people build their toons, as long as they participate as members of the group and don’t need to be carried constantly through it πŸ™‚

    Some people check the MyDDO profilepage, which gives a vast amount more information – but still, I prefer fun play (or attempts) over easy successes. As the toons grow tougher, newer toons appear respectively weaker and the gap widens, hence to play with equally capable toons, elitism is the natural course, just not one that I like.

    Great pics and a nice writeup!

  7. Woke up this morning and after reading others and thinking about it i take what i said back πŸ™‚

    I would have raised them if it was me, ive not done hard shroud, i have died on normal so would have to think very hard about entering hard

    Also i, like others probably wouldnt join a quest which states how much hp is needed, thing is its how people say things but when you type you dont always know, you seem like a nice person so if i saw you asking for hp i would atleast consider joining πŸ˜€

  8. XD hehe. Maybe I have become elitist then. πŸ™‚ if it was a normal quest, then I would most likely raise until I was out of mana. But in a hard shroud with two healers on around 2000 sp, I usually still run out of mana close to the end and don’t want to waste mana on raising people who keep dropping from one hit. If the people dropping had been among the highest dps, then I would consider raising them.

    πŸ™‚ In one hard shroud run we were 3 healers, two fvs and me. But, the big difference was that both the fvs were meleing, I was the only one on active healer duty. I can tell you we did run into trouble, and people died. But we managed to pull through.

    My friend who was leading the raid told me I suck, because he died XD But I replied “I never said I could solo heal shroud”.

    πŸ™‚ I build my toon for survivability. I know some really tough clerics and she can’t compete with them, but she’s getting sturdier all the time. πŸ™‚ I usually don’t worry about dying (until something hits me for half or my of my hp), because I know can survive a lot of things. Elemental damage is still a bit of a problem, though (fire elementals hit hard).

  9. Its also alot different for me as i havent played a healer, i see where your coming from, if your gonna join a hard shroud maybe it best if you do so when your not getting one shotted πŸ˜€

    Haha your cleric sounds really tough and your enjoying it, thats the main thing πŸ˜€

  10. πŸ™‚ I love playing the healer. Makes me feel important. And I love it when I do well and get compliments. Not so much when the party’s weak and no matter how hard I try I can’t get us through.

    Playing a healer also tends to require some backbone, to be able to tell people off when they are being stupid or just mean. People have quit playing clerics because of the crap you tend to get, especially from people who only play melees and expect you to play like a hireling healbot.

    πŸ™‚ My problem is that I’m too kind. I will use a lot of resources just to keep us going, even if I lose more than I gain. I need to learn to be a bit harsher, to not not set myself up for failure, and to say no. πŸ™‚ but I feel bad if I let others down.

    There’s this one player who for some reason has decided that I’m his go to healer, even though I only ran with him for 5 mins of a failed Demons den. He’s impatient and I think his toon’s more or less gimp. I’ve gotten 3 tells in the last week or so asking me to join him in something. I’ve managed to wiggle out of it XD I don’t really want to run with him, but I’m having a hard time saying so. I don’t care about the gimpyness of his toon, but his play style just doesn’t match mine.

    Oh, btw. one quest/raid that gets the better on Thaz is Abbot. I just don’t know how to stay alive in it πŸ™‚ And I haven’t even been scouting, I just either get hit with inferno, or fall in the water. And I’ve only done it on normal.

  11. Yeh it sounds great that your not just standing back and healing.

    I like when people are kind :D, yeh i dont like being a let down, will never be nasty to someone though.

    Well i hope he’s not reading this or your gonna have to come up with something good hehe, tough situation dont know what i would say, somehow have to let him know without it sounding horrible, good luck with that πŸ™‚

  12. Let me be elitist here for a second… If there’s fireballs flying at non-melees, then the melees are doing a crap job circling him :P.

    Also… subtle spellcasting on a sorc is not a bad idea, but if you were also DP-ing, the devil might have been going for you not the sorc, so nobody is safe without good circling of the boss. I can’t imagine why the bard would get the aggro of the boss if non-melee.

    Hehehehehe.

    Anyway, after 2 deaths, unless the whole raid is going badly and not just same person dying… not rez-ing until end is a wise choice.

  13. πŸ™‚ You’re probably right, that the melees didn’t do a very good job at circling him. πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚ no, I have yet do dp in shroud, I don’t have enough mana to dp and heal, especially not when we’re only 2 healers. I have dp’d in the other raids, though πŸ™‚

    I wasn’t really watching the players, or I wasn’t but I was mostly focusing on 1. everyone’s hp bars and 2. that harry wouldn’t block my heals (since he moves). It was strange, because the sorcs was standing right beside me, and boom! She goes down, and I didn’t even see the fire balls (does Harry cast anything else?). I wasn’t aware of the bard, if he was meleing or not. πŸ™‚ just that he and the sorc dropped almost at the same time.

    The meles were all pretty strong though, and we were never in trouble with the heals (unlike sometimes when you suddenly see everyone getting hit for a lot, and you’re wondering if you’re gonna be fast enough with your mass heal, or if some of them are gonna die)

    Ooh, I wasn’t going to flag my sorc for shroud, but it would be fun to try him out. πŸ™‚ I wonder how he would do.

  14. LOL As I said, my poor little wizard took 3 fireballs to the face and was squashed (actually more my fault for 1. not having quicken yet and 2. having too much fun to pay proper “serious” attention). My sorcerer has not died in Shroud, but generally I’m MUCH more paranoid with her, move a lot, even hide if need be to hit that heal scroll. Always a danger if Harry is not circled.

    You should definitely go into Shroud with your sorc! Just be warned you will be piking part 1 πŸ™‚

  15. Raising a semi-squooshy too isn’t so bad so long as they understand that they may need to back off from the battle a bit to let the death penalty wear off…if they don’t they will be ubber-squooshy as they head back into a “hairy situation”…pun intended…
    This is speaking from past experience…Sarlathin (my mech rogue; not a tank but wouldn’t call him squooshy) generally joins the melee battle-front tho I learned if he dies it is much better to find a safe zone and pull out the Silver Slinger on Harry…at least until the death penalty wears off…
    As for the Elitist question I don’t think u have the proper attitude for that (this being a compliment). When I think of an elitist I consider them someone with knowledge and experience that doesn’t want to take the time to teach newbies and tends to make them feel inferior…that doesn’t seem your style…

Leave a Reply

