Quick fix for broken myddo blogs

If you ever find your blog looking a bit like this:

broken blog

Then I have an easy fix for you.

The myddo blog page works like this:

The page is divided into parts; top banner, left column, center column, right column and bottom banner. Left and center columns contain widgets that you can more or less manage. When the page loads, first the top banner is rendered (i.e. drawn), then the left column from top to bottom, then center, right and bottom banner. But here’s the thing. While rendering, if any of the widgets run into a critical error, rendering stops there and then. This means that anything that would come after, will not show.

With the latest update, the logs widget does not seem to be able to display characters taking epic or druid levels. So if you notice that your blog is suddenly looking very dark, here’s what you do.

1. Look at you logs widget. How many logs do you see?

Broken Character Log

In my case I see 3. The logs widget should display the 6 last logs, which tells me that the forth log is the one causing the error. You can also tell that the widget is broken off, as it does not show the links at the bottom, which it should.

2. Run some quests. In my case I needed to create a minimum of 3 logs, which I did by running two quests and collecting the end reward (well actually I ran the same quest twice, but that’s beside the point).

Character log

If the logs are updating on your myddo page, your blog should now show normally.

3. Head over to My Admin, choose Appearance and Widgets on the left.

Myadmin

4. On the right, click on Character Log, press Remove and remember to Save Changes.

Widget list

5. Go back to your blog. πŸ™‚

By hiding/ disabling your logs widget, the next time it contains broken logs, it will not cause render to fail. If you want to see your logs (you will only be able to see the ones after the broken ones), you can access it via the url: http://my.ddo.com/%5Byour name]/log/. In my case it would be: http://my.ddo.com/micki/log/

Good luck and happy questing!

P.S. No, I do not work for Turbine. I don’t have access to their source code, and I can’t do anything about the broken logs. This is only meant to be an easy fix for people who like to keep a blog on myddo.

10 comments on “Quick fix for broken myddo blogs

  1. You are a freaking genius! πŸ™‚ Good to know the root cause, and I guess I should have known Turbine didn’t actually fix anything when mine resolved. πŸ™‚

  2. Glad to see SOMEONE is concerned with finding workarounds to the glitches since Turbine doesn’t seem particularly concerned about fixing them. πŸ˜‰

  3. Good job Micki. Probably explains why mine has always worked. I don’t use the logs widget. Nice fix for those that do have the problem though.

  4. So it was the symptom you assumed, good job!

    I don’t use logs either so no wonder mine was always appearing as it should (nor do I play epic content for that matter).

  5. So this is a problem only for Epic people and Druids πŸ˜€
    As someone who isn’t Epic level or has a Druid, I assure you I am not laughing – well not in front of you anyway. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

