Funny how small things can annoy u sometimes

You’re all gonna think I’m being completely unnecessary writing this post πŸ™‚ But, it bothered me, and stayed in my mind, so I’m gonna get it off my chest. You know how you sometimes afterwards think “why didn’t I say that?”. Well this was one of those. I was running Reaver’s Refuge quests elite on Thazara yesterday, with a pretty good and fun group. But, in Enter the Kobold end fight we ran into trouble, probably because of the wrong tactic at first. After a bunch of tries and the casters releasing to get their mana back, we changed our tactics and finished end fight in a few mins πŸ™‚

But here’s the tiny thing that bothered me. The wizard was for some reason trying to solo the boss area, kept dying and wasting mana on respawning meteor swarms (he was a TR btw). At one point he’s out of mana and asks me for divine vitality. I say “I don’t have it”. And he responds “All clerics should have dv. Probably the best use of a cleric’s turns. And they regenerate”. My response was “No, I don’t have that many turns and I use them for 90% of heals, if the party is good.” Here’s the thing. His comment was very noob. Clearly he has never played a cleric, but only run with hirelings that have dv. It bothered me, though, that I didn’t teach him. What I should have said was “Divine vitality 1 is pretty useless, and dv 2-3 is a waste of action points. Dv is only for healbots with a lot of turns”.

Actually, come to think of it, I see no reason at all for a cleric to have dv on higher levels. The amount of mana it restores is rudimentary, even if you were to have dvIII, which would costs you 1+2+3 AP. One of the divine enhancements is a prereq for Radiant Servant, otherwise I wouldn’t bother with them at all. I have divine healing, even though I only used it sometimes before I got the radiant aura. Someone wrote a blog post, though, were it had saved them from wiping.

πŸ™‚ Ok, that’s my semi-rant for the day, lol. Ever seen a charmed meteor swarm?

Charmed Meteor Swarm

Tc and see you around Orien or Cannith.

Peace out.

P.S. πŸ™‚ I believe this is one of those “I’m proud of my cleric, she’s awesome. Don’t tell me she’s not” – moments. lol

8 comments on “Funny how small things can annoy u sometimes

  1. I see you’ve run into the TR noob type. Its a special breed of player and at first you’d think all is good until they spout some rubbish as you’ve discovered.

    Awesome pic btw and ty for sharing.

    tc Keava

  2. I dont know much about cleric’s to say what enhancements you shold take.
    I do know that i dont like when people tell you how to do something, how you should be playing your toon, advice is always welcome but as in your example when they die they blame you because you dont have something they need

  3. @redcastle πŸ™‚ jup. But it’s not the first time, I have met them before. My rl friend told me sometime ago when I was still very new to the game that “TR’s have gear and TR’s have plat”, etc. I have, though, lost a lot of respect for TRs as I’ve been playing. Some people are really experienced with good gear and a lot of plat. But, you don’t need to be TR for that. One of the toughest players I’ve run with (a sorc), if I recall, he’s not TR. Some TRs and lvl 20’s are really noob.

    πŸ™‚ and ty.

    @legend πŸ™‚ I’m not an expert, but I have a lot of experience playing my cleric. And a comment like “dv is probably the best use of a cleric’s turns”, is actually quite dum. The best use of a cleric’s turns in high level content and raids is in fact aura and bursts, at times capstone. The turns do regenerate, but only 1 per 2 minutes, if I recall, and aura lasts for about 1 min 30s at a time. Thazara has 10-11 turns, I keep aura going constantly, and use bursts for fast cheap heals if I get hit. I actually tend to feel a bit disabled when I run out of turns in battle. I’ve got my bursts hot key’d to the scroll button on the mouse and aura on ctrl+scroll. I don’t even have to think when I press it, it’s automatic. So when I press it and nothing happens, it takes me a few secs to realize I’m out of turns.

    Wasting turns on the use of something like dv, that gives another player something like 20? sp per dv use, is completely illogical. I could only consider using it before u get bursts at lvl 6. Since I mostly run elite, I’ve never seen turn undeads to be that useful (most undead save), while bursts do a nice amount of damage against undead, + heal me and everyone close by. You can also add metas for free to bursts. Thazaras bursts have the following metas on all the time: Quicken Spell, Empower Healing Spell, Empower Spell, and Maximize Spell.

  4. Agreed Like how OPERA 12.00 64 bit edition won’t allow me to Leave replies (I’m using Microsoft revolting IE 9 slowest browser of them all edition just to post this) the interface to Ie9 is HORRIBLE!

  5. Sounds like you know what your doing πŸ˜€

    I also agree with your reply to red, someone who ive been talking too and playing with has a cleric and fvs, both lv21 first lifers, she has great gear and is a awesome player,nothing against tr’s but you dont have to be one to be good

  6. There are people who will be noobs no matter how long they play the game. Sounds like you found one of them.

    And I’m glad to hear someone else say that DV is a waste. It’s marginally useful at lower levels, but even though my cleric IS mostly a healbot with a lot of turns, I think those turns are better used for healing. If you really have to rely that heavily on a few shots of 17-38 SP from someone else, something’s not right. Suppose he’s in a party with NO cleric; what does he do then? It’s unfair to depend on other people for resources.

  7. DV is totally a waste, I even get annoyed at people who carefully pick the hires with DV skipping over the DW and mas curers to get it! The answer to the question “Do you have DV?” is surely “How can you not know how to manage your sp? Is this the first time you ran this quest?”
    I loved my arcane before I TR’d and will definately run TRs again. I always made sure to reach boss fights with 1/4 or more sp bar left often nearly 1/2 and I didn’t pike the previous quest but used careful spell choices and SLA’s and the ‘wand of blasting’ to make that blue bar last. I remember once saving a wipe in the IQ quest where you fall asleep inside the building and defend your own mind. I got to boss fight with plenty then things went astray and everyone else died. I ended up kiting 3 bosses with dots ticking on em hoping the sp would hold out. 2 dropped and in the end I was kiting the rustie with melf’s acid from the regenerating echo of power sp. Took a long time to kill em but I did it! Erm sorry I appear to have derailed your thread totally. Oh well You is a roxx0r cl3r1c

  8. @Even πŸ™‚ I agree about DV, that turns are better used for heals, even on healbot types. I guess I was only thinking that those with a lot of turns can afford it, while Thazara tends to run out of turns when spamming bursts in battle. I might lr her if I some good tomes, reduce str and int a little, and add to con and cha.

    @Domfig Who are you and what have you done with Domfig? πŸ˜„ lol. I didn’t know u had capped and TR’d an arcane. πŸ™‚ Mana management for sure, but sometimes when the boss fight goes wrong, no matter how well u managed ur mana, u might still stand there with only 12 sp. Before I lr’d Thaz, I didn’t use scrolls and wands, and I prob didn’t have RS either. πŸ™‚ But I had a few spells that cost less than 12 sp, and was able to heal with that. πŸ™‚ Now-a-days I pack a bunch of scrolls, so if I do run out, I can scroll heal. But usually, in a good group, mana isn’t a problem.

    πŸ™‚ In this quest, when I said that the casters released, that meant the wizard and sorcerer (well I guess the rogue did as well), while I had just used the second shrine and was at 1600+ sp still, and gear wasn’t that broken (the wizard ended up naked, lol), so I didn’t release (not because of re-entry, just because I didn’t want to do the running thing when I didn’t have to, and Thaz manages well with her own buffs).

Leave a Reply

