Thinking about my toons and about the game

I have been playing DDO for close to a year now, actively since maybe Christmas. Before this I had never played a MMORPG, or any form of D&D. I still don’t know what half of the numbers mean or how damage or resistances really work (am slowly getting there, though). I also have not played most of the classes in the game.

Thazara (of Orien)
I made my cleric Thazara in August last year. I wanted a toon that could melee and cast spells. My rl friend came up with the idea to go through all the quests for max favor and I picked up on it. That was my plan with this toon, to collect favor and to raise crafting levels. I wanted to slowly get her to 20 and then leave her there as a support toon for all the other toons I was gonna play. Of course, since I didn’t know what I was doing, and the toon was started out customized, she started to suck pretty quickly. Around Christmas I badly wanted to fix her, and was considering adding a level of fighter to make her a better melee. People on the forums, though, suggested I reroll or do a reincarnation (lesser or greater). I waited until I had enough favor to unlock the 32 p build, then did a greater reincarnate. People on the forums helped me decide on starting stats, feats and enhancements. I also learned a lot about building and playing a cleric (how to use hot keys for example).

I did go back on the forums a few times to ask about gear and other things… about how to improve my cleric, but my first goal didn’t change. To collect max amount of favor. At the moment she is sitting on 3400+ favor (maybe 3500, need to check), and she hasn’t run any Eveningstar quests yet. Of quests 1-17 Thazara is missing elite favor from (if I remember correctly); In the flesh, ADQ preraid, Shroud and Reaver’s Refuge. Of quests 18-20 she’s missing elite favor from; VoD and Hox (have run them hard), a couple of IQ quests, several lvl 19 quests (missing genesis point and invasion to flag for ToD, did MA and LoB flagging elite), then all lvl 20 quests. πŸ™‚ Thazara has and is still running quests first time elite. I didn’t use to check wiki before lfm’ing, but now-a-days I check to see if I need a trapper. I don’t really farm for gear, except Crystal Cove and Tor, but I believe Thaz is pretty well geared atm, even though she could be even better. And I’m making the concordant opposition gs goggles for her.

Maidae (of Orien)
When I was running the Baudry Cartamon chain on Thazara last summer, I met a monk. She was running around jumping high and just wailing on the kobolds. I got I guess a bit jealous. Thaz couldn’t move like that. One of the things that bothered me the most in DDO was the lack of mobility in my toon (I’ve played Zelda twilight princess on wii, and it’s all about moving. Moving while fighting, or even using weapons while riding). So, after I went vip, I made my first monk. She was a light monk drow and I named her Zilvlayna. At this point I didn’t yet know about monk prestige enhancements, but when I did, Ninja spy sounded way cooler than Shintao πŸ˜€ So, I wanted to try a dark monk. Again I went on the forums and asked for help, and made a plan with the chargen. I waited until I had unlocked the 32 p build until I made Maidae with vet 1.

I did have monk gear saved, and Maidae got heavy fort at lvl 8. She was and is still my toughest toon. Is a good fighter and has good saves, and the best thing, she’s very mobile. But for some reason, she doesn’t get as much love as my other toons. My plan is to make her an end game monk, with 3 monk PL’s and at least 1 barb. But I guess, I’m finding her a bit boring? It’s fun to not be the squishy one, yes, but it also means there isn’t that much of a challenge. Unlike my other toons, where I have to pay attention all the time so I’m not gonna end up dead, playing a monk is very forgiving, especially if you’re not gimp and have decent gear.

Cerge (of Orien)
I did want to try an arcane caster. I had learned that sorc’s have less spells, you can’t change spells freely, but that they’ve got more fire power compared to wizards. Wizards are poorer nukers, but are better at CC. So, of course I wanted to try a nuker πŸ™‚ I didn’t make a plan for Cerge, but have been following the outdated Sorcerer’s Handbook on the forums. Of course I couldn’t follow it exactly, since they didn’t have prestige enhancements in -09, and everyone needs toughness. Cerge is and was from the start very squishy (I made him as well with vet 1). But he had a lot of sp, hitting over 1000 at lvl 7. πŸ™‚ I did decide I do want to try to go for completionist with one of the toons, and I decided that I would do it with Cerge. Why completionist you ask? Well for me it’s simple. It gives me a reason to try all the classes, lol, without having to make more toons to spend time on. I am also considering first going through all the classes, then doing multiple lives as wiz, fvs and sorc, to end up as sorcerer in the end. But, I could change my mind. This is meant to be a long time project.

Keronna (of Cannith)
I was invited by someone (u know who u are), to join a guild on Cannith server. I answered that I don’t really have time, but then decided that I wanted to get to know the people over there. So I planned a new toon on the chargen, with the experience I had gained playing my cleric, monk and sorcerer. The result was a 18/2 helf clonk with sorcerer dilettante. I am very excited about this toon, since I’m expecting her to be great πŸ™‚ Keronna gets most weeks playtime a few hours Wednesdays and Fridays, and just reached lvl 7.

Jarvanna (of Orien)
As I mentioned in a previous post, my sister finally decided to try out the game. I got very excited and wanted to help her out, but I didn’t have any low level toons. I did, though, want to try out the druid class, and here was my chance. The druid is completely new to me, though. I really don’t know what I’m doing, lol. πŸ˜€ But I’m making her a bit like Thazara, caster with some melee. I did, though, realize that the druid gets more skill points than the cleric, and you could make a druid go in many different directions. To use intimidate, bluff, diplo, etc. πŸ™‚ I do wish to learn to use those skills at some point, but maybe some other time. My druid will have her skills in concentration, balance, jump, UMD and maybe some diplo.

What next?
I feel I have too many toons atm πŸ™‚ I want to get Thazara finished. I want to finish collecting favor in Eberron, and then start progressing her Epic Destiny. But I also want to get Maidae and Cerge to 20 and TR Cerge into his next life as a wizard. I want to run Jarvanna with my sister, and I want to play Keronna. I also want to learn more about the game. Mostly I feel stressed that everyone’s off in Eveningstar and I’m not.

Also, it’s summer. I should not be playing at all, but be out in the sun, exercising and socializing with real people. But for some reason, I have no interest in doing that. I do exercise, I just don’t socialize. And jup, I’m single πŸ˜€ I have no life (I just don’t have time for everything). I’m not even that interested in meeting anyone, because that would be away from my gaming time πŸ™‚ (and if you’re not into computers, games and exercise, u have no place in my life – not counting family and friends of course)

Alright. Sorry for the way too long post. Just some thoughts I wanted to get off my chest (I do think too much).

Tc and see you around.

Love,
Micki/ Thazara/ Maidae/ Cerge/ Keronna/ Jarvanna

P.S. I have a bunch of console games I haven’t touched in ages (I bought myself a used PS2 and Wii several years ago). I love buying new games (well I buy most my games used), but since I started playing DDO, the consoles have been left. I just don’t enjoy playing by myself, I only finished Zelda, because my sister was nagging me to play πŸ™‚ One exception is Buffy the vampire slayer – Chaos bleeds. I really loved that game. But then again, I’m a Buffy fan. πŸ™‚

P.P.S. I also love books and buying books. But I haven’t spent any time reading this year. When I used to travel to work by train I read a little every day, but now-a-days I mostly go by bike, so no reading time.

11 comments on “Thinking about my toons and about the game

  1. I know how you feel about the too many characters πŸ™‚ I think I’m currently up to 13 on Sarlona, although 3 of them are mules. And since starting to play DDO I seem to have stopped playing my PS3 (I am a massive Drake Uncharted/Naughty Dog Studio fan) and yes, the reading has fallen by the wayside too.

    Damn you DDO for being so damned enjoyable! {shakes fist at sky}

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. This all sounds far to familiar – that bits me, eh that bits me as well *feels slightly awkward*
    Oh my altitis is a little bit more severe, I have no high levels and I do play other games occasionally (although not on my Wii, which just sits there ignored).
    So anyway πŸ™‚

    And must run with you again sometime – where I promise to be as embarrassing.

  3. πŸ˜€ lol. I did read the warning here: http://www.wikihow.com/Keep-up-in-Ddo-As-a-Casual-Player

    “MMORPG’s can be highly psychologically addictive. This is not a myth. You will make friends and create virtual people that you will become very attached to. And the only way to meet these friends and/or work on your creation, is to play the game. That is one reason it is so difficult for people to realize that the game is addictive… It feels normal. You just want to meet your friends. But when this replaces your real life friends and responsibilities, it can be just as harmful as any other addiction.”

  4. @kris. You’re welcome to join Jarvanna and Xenaya any time we happen to be online at the same time πŸ™‚ And, nah, it was just amusing… the being blown up bit πŸ˜€

  5. Micki, Sounds very familiar. Have gone through and currently going through the process again on seeing just where my toons stand. Sadly not knowing what I was doing with Epic Destinies has lead to my favourite toon being kinda screwed up. She’s gonna get shelved until I know what I’m doing.

  6. don’t have yet that many alts but am addicted in a sense to ddo when I play i play ddo.
    Before I got on ddo I just bought a lot of games on the PS3. started some but that is it. It all started when my pnp d&d asked my to join for the 20th ttime. Where I first was against it I ended up playing the most of our little guild now.
    So yes, damn you ddo stop being so enjoyable.

  7. Nice post Micki πŸ˜€

    Ive been playing for 5months and also have no d&d experience, have tried a few mmo’s though.

    I said in one of my blogs that i only play one toon and the others get left behind, Uruko is currently loving eveningstar πŸ™‚

    Haha i too have not played my 360 much since i started ddo, i played dragons dogma for a few weeks but ddo is the place for all my game time πŸ˜€

    One thing though the real world is awesome, dragons, kobolds,magic, even people turning into animals i saw the other day, if only the game had all that….oh wait, im playing this game way too much πŸ˜€

  8. @redcastle 😦 oh, I’m sorry ur favorite toon got messed up. Hope u’re soon able to fix it.

    @Silken πŸ™‚ hihi. I also have ended up playing a lot more than the person who introduced me to the game in the first place.

    @legend πŸ™‚ ty

    πŸ˜€ and yeah, it’s awesome, isn’t it?

  9. I finished reading the Millenium Trilogy in 5 days πŸ˜€

    As for being out in the sun socializing with real people, Dontcha realize how scary the real world is?! Best to stay inside and hide me thinks. Much safer that way. Yup. πŸ˜€

    πŸ™‚

  10. Its a finely balanced juggling act for me, thelanis toons, orien toon, cannith toon, painting, pnp roleplay, tabletop wargaming. DDO tends to win a big share of time because of the friends I have met and come to care about. A friend being in Poland or USA is just as real as a friend down the road. I live in a different country to most of my family so only interact with them socially through the internet anyway so why not same with my buddies.

  11. @Mizz πŸ™‚ oh. wow. I’ve only read one of the books so far. I did just order the last book in the clan of the cave bear series (Jean M. Auel’s book series about the cro-magnon girl Ayla). I waited for it to be out in Swedish and in paper back (to be the same size as my others). Since I’ve read the others in swedish I wanted to read this one as well. I did read the full LOTR book/books in english, though. Not easy reading if I may say so.

    I also love the books Sabriel, Lirael and Abhorsen by Garth Nix. πŸ™‚ have read them several times (like the Jean M Auel series). And of course Harry potter, also in English. I do also read a bunch of non-fictional books as well, e.g. about training and other things that interest me.

    πŸ™‚ And you’re right. The world is a scary place.

    @Dom. πŸ™‚ I can balance playing and training, I just don’t have any time to sleep… and that doesn’t work with training and work. πŸ™‚ I need more sleep.

    πŸ™‚ And yes, online friends can be as important as real friends. I do have a lot more online friends than I have irl.

Leave a Reply

