Welcome to epic destinies

No, this will not be a post on the epic destinies, lol, but on what I experienced after finally getting into the game after the update πŸ™‚

Welcome to the underdark

While I was waiting for the update to load, I spent some time reading the release notes on what’s different. I feared the part about the UI reset. What does that mean? Do I have do rearrange everything? After I finally got into the game I spent a long while trying to figure out how I wanted Thazara’s UI and quickbars to be. I mean, she has 15 quickbars in use. And how do you get the buffs icons to the right and not the left? Couldn’t figure it out, so I decided to let the be. Oh, my superior ardor VI clickies are now improved ardor with +15 spell power? What the heck does that mean? So, I also arranged some stuff in the bars and changed one of the spells (I realized I never use comet fall anymore since it’s so expensive, so better pick a spell I actually use)

Before doing anything else I logged with the other toons on Orien to set their UI as well, and then logged back with Thaz. Epic destinies. Need to pick one before doing any questing, so any xp earned will go into my new destiny. For divines the choices were Unyielding Sentinel and Exalted Angel. The first one for sort of melee types and the second for offensive caster types. Well I’ve made Thaz as caster, but it came down to the basic fact that the first one gives u a hp boost, the second a sp boost. I’ve managed well with the little sp I have, but Thaz is incredibly squishy, so I picked the Unyielding Sentinel. I got the Vigor of battle feat/enhancement, activated it and oh, wow! I suddenly have 100 hp more. Very nice, very nice.

Epic destinies

I was looking at the lfm and getting all confused with the new “active” and “expires” things. You use the instance to teleport somewhere? Huh? How does that work? Decided with a friend to join a pug for The Tide Turns epic. Oh, epics have difficulties now? I did read a myddo post about this, but I though it was only going to be in the new content. We had a bard for CC and the leader goes in on elite. The bard tells us, she’s only done hard, that she does’t know if she can do elite. We sort of lose a party member, the monk who just doesn’t seem to be coming, so we start without him (2 rogues, barb, bard and me, cleric). The first mobs turn out to be too tough already, maybe the CC failed or something? I’m saying over voice “this isn’t working, guys”. Why? Because party was taking way more damage than they were doing, I was having troubles keeping them healed, and if I’m using loads of mana already in the first fight, I won’t be able to get them through the quest. So, I just stopped healing and ran for cover πŸ™‚ Raised the ones who followed me in spirit form.

We regrouped, rebuffed and got a 3rd rogue to replace the monk πŸ™‚ Went in on hard. This was going a bit better πŸ™‚ The bard was doing a good job with cc and buffs, and kept me regenerating mana, so I didn’t even need the first shrine. Funny bit, though, we got to a trapped passage way, with blades and cold traps, 3 rogues, and no one could find the box. Heh. πŸ™‚ I waited, but since they seemed to just leave it, I timed it and ran. Got hit once by the cold, but made it through without a problem πŸ™‚ I also picked up a scroll apparently. I was busy adjusting something, so I didn’t even notice πŸ™‚ Need to check what scroll that was, lol. Anyway, things went well, we finished and I got 20k+

But now I’m wondering. How will these new levels affect shroud and other raids? E.g. will pugs limit raid member levels to 20? I wish to never TR Thaz, but I want do a minimum of 20 shroud runs for the cleansing stone. Does this mean that I’m gonna have to stay on lvl 20 for as long as I want to run Shroud, HoX, VoD, etc? I also have a bunch of quests I still want to run for favor (Reaver’s reach, devils battlefield, some IQ).

Thazara still needs more sp, but I can make her a sp gs item πŸ™‚ Well I plan to make sp and hp, and u can change epic destinies, can’t u?

Unbuffed Thazara’s hp is now 475 (previously 375). With ship buffs she’s at 495 hp and 1803 sp, and with party member buffs she’s up over 500 πŸ™‚ I’m very excited about this. Maybe I can even do an elite shroud now (still need more sp, though)?

Thazara:
Thazara

So, yeah. That’s my first impression of the update.

Tc, and see you in game.

P.S. Even though I have plans to TR Cerge, I want to get him an epic destiny. πŸ™‚ But I need to run the Web of Chaos chain first (apparently it’s a prereq). Hmm, Cerge’s lvl 16, and I want to do elite, wonder how that would work? I’m not raid flagging him, since he is hopefully my future completionist, so I have at this moment not much need to gather end game equipment (since he has many classes to go through, still)

5 comments on “Welcome to epic destinies

  1. There is a check box (that is checked by default), above the color options of the “UI Settings” tab (under “Options”) that says “Justify Effects Icons to Screen left”. Uncheck it and buffs will once again be on the right side of the UI. The biggest problem I have with the new UI is that stupid focus orb. Bars to the side? Really? What idio-, er, I mean, well-meaning person, decided that?
    πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

