Recently 16 and VON4 pt 2

Last night I decided to give Haywire Foundry a second go, after my failure on Tuesday night (Recently 16 and VON4). This time I’m a little better prepared, I bring 100 pots of repair serious, 100 pots of repair mod and 2 wands of 50 charges of repair serious. I also get another hire than last time, a fleshy lvl 16 fighter (I believe it was this one: Quintesia Velassa). She worked out well, fighting everything in reach, and sometimes staying behind to fight mechanics I had run past (which sometimes can be an annoyance, but worked well for me, since I would have to fight them eventually anyway). The only problem with this hire was that I had to wand heal her (luckily I had a wand of cure serious wounds as well, and one of cure mod). Unlike the barb hire I had last time, I didn’t have to control this hire at all, but she fought and followed on her own.

This time I know where to go and what to do, I run past the traps, and kill all the mechanics and doggies on the way. Before having my hire pull the trapped lever, I make sure to kill all the mechanics down below, so I wouldn’t have to fight them when taking the hire to the shrine. I do east and west sides and pull both levelers before shrining, and buff before heading into the puzzle room (even buff the hire). Solve the puzzle in 1 min, rebuff before boss fight and finish the boss fight in 5 min or less (man! how much easier it was with mana and buffs, I was able to stay put and block and and just spam spells at the Master Control Unit). Rebuff once more before pulling the lever and start heading back (haste and jump work really well, as well as blur, displacement, prot from elements, etc).

I believe I hit at least yellow, maybe orange dungeon alert when running past the defenders, and decide I have to take them out, which isn’t a problem. (lovely snowball swarm hit 3-4 and killed 1-2 with every hit). I get to the end and my last objective is “Find Haywire”. I have a bunch of doggies on my tail, so I turn around to take them out, not even noticing the fire elementals. Yeah, they’re spamming me with fire balls or something, I notice it, but since I’m not taking damage I just fight the doggies. I take out the last doggies only to realize, darn I’m taking damage, retreat! Too late…

Fire elemental

Meh. Let’s hope third try’s the charm.

Tc and see you around Orien or Cannith.

P.S. I haven’t done VON3 with this toon yet, I’m going to get my trapper buddy to help me out with that one. πŸ™‚

P.P.S I don’t really like soloing, but I figured I’d better learn to play this toon before grouping with other people. I did play him lvls 4-10, and at 16 it’s pretty much the same, only that he has more spells, more sp and is a bit tougher πŸ™‚

3 comments on “Recently 16 and VON4 pt 2

  1. My only Orien toon is lvl 2 or I’d offer to run Haywire with you. πŸ™‚

    If you can outrun the dogs, I wouldn’t worry about stopping to kill them unless they’re really doing damage to you, or just toss a firewall over your shoulder and keep going. Once you get to near the end and see the bridge ahead, stop and kill the fire eles; that’ll drop the bridge so you can cross to safety. Make sure you flip the switches in Haywire’s little room! *g*

  2. πŸ™‚ ty.

    πŸ™‚ when I switched to water savant I also got rid of all fire spells (since water savant gets a caster lvl -3 penalty to fire spells), so, no fire wall. πŸ™‚ I was going to run past the dogs, but when I got surrounded and harried, it was just as easy to kill them (took me 5 sec to kill 4-5 dogs). I killed the optional 9, but when getting to the bridge I still had like 5 dogs after me.

    πŸ™‚ But, yes, I need to stop before the fire elementals. I did run too fast and fall down in the lava, but climbing back up wasn’t a problem.

  3. Notes:

    1. I’m running this quest on elite.
    2. I solo’d the tangleroot chain elite with this toon at lvl 10 without too much problems (tangleroot is lvl 3-7, so elite 5-9). Haywire is lvl 9, so elite 11. (and his cold spells crit for 600+ actually)
    3. My failure in this one was all about tactics πŸ™‚ I know I can do it, if I don’t make stupid mistakes.

Leave a Reply

