Recently 16 and VON4

So, last night I was itching to go try out my newly level 16 water savant sorcerer. I looked over gear once more (and checked AH for possible improved/ greater false life and constitution tomes). I had decided to give Haywire Foundry elite a go, I figured, lvl 9 elite shouldn’t be a problem for a lvl 16 sorcerer. I brought a lvl 16 barbarian hire to help me out. Well the hire turned out to be completely useless. No matter which mode I had him in, I couldn’t get him to do anything but a minimum amount of fighting, the rest of the time he was just standing around (even when I explicitly told him to fight a specific foe, he would just bug out). During the first few mobs I was trying out my new spells (I had a whole new list of spells that I didn’t have at lvl 10, and I also just switched from fire to water savant) and trying to figure out the best spells for these mobs. I realized, as before, that my sorc’s pretty awesome πŸ™‚ His cold spells crit for 500+.

But I pretty quickly also realized, I didn’t remember this quest at all (ran it last time last year when Thazara was lvl 11), and after pulling the first lever for the north door, I took a wrong turn (well I found a chest anyway) and ended up dying from acid. Hire was still standing, but was bugging out, again. I was trying to get him to climb a ladder, but he wouldn’t, and any time I got up top, he wouldn’t follow. Took me several tries to get him up, then I took a wrong turn again and ended up in the same spot. So, again I had to fight with the stupid hire, but eventually he brought me to the shrine and I was able to get back up. After this I remembered where to go (to find the second lever for the north door), but was already running out of mana. I cast an unextended jump (for 10 sp), and killed the mobs one by one with my water savant niac’s cold ray (heightened and maximized for 2 sp, most mobs drop in two hits) and made my way to the lever. And boom! Death trap! πŸ™‚ I did not remember that. Tried to have the hire pick up my stone, but of course he just died. But I realized, hey the shrine is just below to the left, and I’m not wearing my feather fall. Yay! I can make it.

So I head to the shrine to resurrect, then head back up to do the optional (pull all the levers to turn off the fire traps) and to pick up my hire, which went fine. But, I’m running on regenerated (12 sp) mana only. I get my hire to the shrine and heal him with a wand of repair serious damage (he’s a wf, I’m a wf, so that works out great), and head over to the north gate. I’m in bad need of a shrine, but oh, well, I have a few spells that cost 12 sp or less (savant niac’s cold ray, snowball swarm, sonic blast and lightning bolt), so I can manage. I get to the puzzle room, and the ooze start dropping. I mostly ignore them and let my hire deal with them, but I can’t seem the figure out the stupid puzzle. πŸ™‚ Luckily one of my guildies respond in the guild chat when I ask about the puzzle. But, since it took me so long to solve, my wand of repair serious damage has broken, I’m really running low on repair pots (had maybe 50 pots of repair serious and 50 of repair mod, and two wands of repair serious – 50 charges), and the hire’s weapon has broken.

Iron golem

I open the door to the boss room, not even realizing what’s behind the door, and omg omg omg! Huge defenders and iron golems! What can I do but run, back and forth and round and round, stopping every few secs to turn around and throw snowball swarm. One by one the doggies and golems drop, except the boss, the Master Control Unit. I’m hitting him for 50 or less with every snowball swarm and my hire is just running after him trying to kick him πŸ˜€ If I had had a chance to stop and watch it would have been very amusing. So, I run and run and run, around and around and around. I realize that I run much faster than he does, so as long as I stay out of dodge I can cast snowball swarm at him every few seconds, without getting hit. I’m getting tired of running, so I take a wrong turn and he hits me and I’m down to 22 hp (and out of repairs). I’m not about to give up, though, so I just try to be a little more careful and continue running, and yay! After it seems like forever he drops and I head over to pick up the key and pull the lever. And start running back. I get all the way up, and then get hit with acid or something and die. I figure, if I can only get the hire to the end, I might be able to finish, but he picks up my stone only to get incapacitated. Do hireling wf’s regenerate? Seems to take like forever, but he does.. only to die a second later. And it’s a wipe. Meh.

πŸ™‚ Well, next time I know where to go and what to do, and I’m bringing a lot more repairs πŸ™‚

Ty for reading and see you around Orien or Cannith.

14 comments on “Recently 16 and VON4

  1. Don’t feel bad – when I first went VIP and started doing favor cleanup on Even, it took me four or five tries to finish Haywire. I might’ve gotten lost a few times… OK, I got lost EVERY time. LOL

  2. You discovered a great secret, hirelings are useless. Don’t tell anyone though πŸ˜‰

    What you need, is a guide *whistles innocently* and I know one but I think he’s on a different server. πŸ™‚

  3. I have just unlocked all quests in the game. After reading this I will have a nice deja vu when I get lost and wipe in Haywire the 1st hundred times. πŸ™‚

  4. @Evan πŸ™‚ I don’t feel too bad. I think the whole thing went pretty well, just sucks that I wasted so much time on it (stopped playing at 2:30 am, and was supposed to get up at 6:30).

    @redcastle πŸ™‚ Actually, hires are great for carrying soul stones πŸ™‚ have saved my bum many times. And I believe I know my way around now.

    @Ice XD lol. You’ll do fine, just run with a party?

  5. I quite like this quest when people take time and let trappers do their job and buffers do their job, when eejits just run off at high speed it is a guaranteed dingfest.

  6. I assume it’s just me, but I think there’s some inbuilt stupidity factor in the hires, early levels they work great, midlevels useful but showing poor judgement, late levels neither powerful nor intelligent by any standards.

  7. This is one of the vons I generally run in group ’cause I waste way more time figuring out what to do. That and having to ‘jump’ in the end with characters that can’t ‘jump’.

    You definately want the challenge tunic tho for your water savant. Cold is my backup element on my earth savant and the tunic is gold.

  8. πŸ™‚ he’s water with air back up. And that tunic seems really nice (as well as the wind bracers), but since I’m planning to tr when he hits cap, I don’t know if it’s worth grinding for (next life trap monkey archmage).

  9. Coincidentally Yesterday night I also tried VON 4 with my recently level 16th cannith wizard.
    No one joined my LFM so I took a healer hire 16 and a turbine rogue lvl 16 that was surprisingly good at fighting constructs and at finding and disabling every trap in the quest, even the force ones inside the hidden shrine.
    I really didn’t remember all the details of the quest, I usually do it in a group, so the first run ended after the first lever, when I made the noob move to use a dimension door (yes, never do it in this quest, you got stuck in the beggining).
    But the second one was smooth and easy. about 20k xp and flag for the raid =)
    I would offer help doing it but sadly my toys are all in cannith, poke me around when you are there!
    And good luck next try.

  10. Say you have a group of 5 level 16’s with a hireling. Say you do VoN3 Elite and have no issues until the very end. Say as soon as you start the final the trap goes off and your Pale Master and Bard are instantly killed. A short time later everyone is dead. Staggered recall, reenter with -20%, run ALL the way to the end and obliterate the Marut in seconds. Yep, 1 trap, undisarmable, caused a wipe against a mob that we could kill easily without it. So, feeling happy that you finished, you head right over to VoN4 elite. Say you have absolutely no issues until the final run to the end. Right before the last room with the fire elementals, a massive blast of fire comes from nowhere. No, it was NOT the blast that is triggered and you don’t make the blast doors, we still have NO idea what that fire was. Two of your party members fall off something and are transported back to the beginning, two others are incinerated. The lone survivor is your squishy rogue. He has exactly 6 hit points left. Not only does he make it to the final room and gets the completion for everyone, he actually kills the fire elementals, ALL WITH 6HP left and no healz. Good times, good time… πŸ™‚ So being overleveled doesn’t always pan out…

  11. Oh, man. This reminds me that it’s been a good 6 months since I’ve run VoN4. I have 2 chars that should flag for VoN5/6. I’ve probably forgotten everything. Jumping….*shudder*…

  12. @Shin Hahaha. Me and Comic just fell off a cliff and ran forward and found ourselves at the entrance/exit of the quest. But it was alot of fun πŸ˜‰

  13. @Thorek πŸ™‚ good that I forgot I had dd, then XD My toon on Cannith’s name’s Keronna. So that’s me, if you ever happen to notice it πŸ™‚

    @Shin πŸ™‚ sounds like fun XD but, yes, it is a hard quest, even when you’re over level. It’s a bit like trying to run through stealthy repossession. Even when being many levels higher than the quest, you still get harried at yellow dungeon alert.

  14. Pingback: Micki’s Delirium - Blog Archive - Recently 16 and VON4 pt 2

Leave a Reply

