Learning Shroud puzzles

What, huh? Two posts in a day? No way! πŸ˜€ lol. Well, I just spent about 30 mins learning to solve Shroud puzzles, and practicing here: http://terpstra.ca/vale.html. I now believe I know how to solve all of them, and with a bit of in game practice, I’m sure I’ll be able to solve them pretty fast.

Here’s the two forum posts I used (have been posted before, but still valid): HOWTO: Solve the vale puzzle yourself for 3×3, 4×4 and 5×5, and for the circle: Circle puzzle. If you haven’t already, read and try it out? πŸ™‚

Best of luck and happy raiding πŸ˜€

Micki

7 comments on “Learning Shroud puzzles

  1. I link this to people whenever possible. I love it! I think it helps people become more confident with Shroud puzzles than the solver. It’s that whole “teach a man to fish versus giving him a fish” thing.

  2. πŸ™‚ cool. Yes, I happened to find your post: Break Your Shroud Puzzle Solver Dependency Now!, but figured, instead of linking to your post, I would just link to the forum posts (and not the thread, since it took me a while to find the nice pic of the circle one). I just realized, though, that when practicing, I need think of how I would be running on them, and not only which ones I need to press. Doing that on the practice page, well it took me about 80 presses to solve the 5×5 one πŸ™‚

  3. http://forums.ddo.com/showthread.php?t=374644 Another method which I’ve been practicing with, and have been itching to try in an actual Shroud.

    4x4s are the same.

    3x3s you solve down, then solve up, then solve back down (rather than solve down, go back to the top and hit certain tiles based on what’s unlit below). Just down, up, down, done.

    5x5s are slightly trickier (but easier than the above-linked method, I think)

    1) Solve down
    2) Make note of whether the bottom is symmetrical or asymmetrical.
    3) Solve the bottom row using only the bottom row (this will mess the second-to-bottom row, but that’s fine. Also, it’s fun.)
    4) If the bottom row was asymmetrical in step 2, hop on the middle one. If it’s symmetrical, don’t.
    5) Solve up.

  4. Those posts are great. They helped me get over my utter dread of Phase 3, even though for some reason 5x5s still don’t seem to like me much – I can get them on the practice site every time, but ingame tends to be a crapshoot.

  5. @LrdSlvrhnd πŸ™‚ I must say I found solving down and switching so solving up, more confusing that just solving down, then pressing on one of the top ones and then solving down again. The asymmetrical thing and when to press the middle bottom row and not, and when to solve the bottom row using just the buttons in it… well I must have done it wrong, because I didn’t get it to work. πŸ™‚

    @Evennote πŸ™‚ Well puzzles don’t scare me, because I tend to not do them XD lol. I just tell ppl I don’t do them/ know them and leave it at that. But in shroud I don’t want to dependent on someone else coming to rescue me, so wanted to learn them. I did try using a puzzle solver, but I didn’t understand how they work XD

Leave a Reply

