“I like Time. There’s so little and so much of it. “

πŸ™‚ Anyone happen to know where the quote’s from? (No, I will not tell until you guess, or google, lol)

My issue is time. I just have too little of it. To make things work, you have to make compromises. Here’s an insight into my daily life and how I spend my time.

First of all, my job. I work about 37.5 h/week, 7.5 h/day (30 min of lunch is required and not included in our work time). We have sliding hours (we can somewhat freely choose when we arrive in the morning and when we leave in the evening, as long as we do the required hours), but must log the hours we do. Second, my exercise. I have a gym membership, I try to cycle to work regularly, I go to swimming practice 2 times a week (have a trainer), I just started running school and am trying to go for a run 3 times a week (got a training program to follow from the running school). Atm, I haven’t been to the gym in at least a month, because there just haven’t been enough time (and I haven’t had the energy either). Third, I have 6 small companion animals (degus) that require my daily attention. They live 3 and 3 in a cage, and I let them out of their cages every day for an hour of play time. Lately I’ve been doing other things during this time, like cooking, having a shower, surfing the web, etc. which I feel a bit bad about, because I should be socializing with them and not doing other things.

Here’s a pic of one of my girls (Stella), if you’ve never seen a degu before:

Degu Stella

Forth, DDO πŸ™‚ I love playing DDO. When I’m on, there’s no other thoughts in my mind but what’s going on in the game. I get completely wrapped up in the virtual world, and I love it. It’s like reading fiction, but instead of just following the story, you are able to affect the outcome. πŸ™‚ I believe I play about 10-30 h/week, mostly weekends, but also about 1-2 h on some week nights.

Now, as you can see I have a lot on my schedule, so I have to prioritize. I believe my priorities are a bit like this: 1. degus, 2. work, 3. exercise, 4. DDO. … and somewhere at the bottom are things like sleep, food and cleaning. Yes, here’s my big problem. I don’t sleep. I do household chores when I feel I’ve left them for too long (like something like every other week)… and I have no interest in cooking or socializing. Oh, I completely forgot about socializing πŸ™‚ I do, on occasion go out, or see my friends, but that’s more of an exception than a rule.

And I’m exhausted. And all I want to do is play DDO. What I do, is have planned breaks from it once in a while to sleep and clean and do other things, but during that time I suffer from abstinence. πŸ™‚ I believe I have a problem.

Take care and see you around Orien (or if I ever get around to it, on Cannith as well).
Love, Micki

P.S. I’m doing my first Sprint triathlon on July 1, and I’m hoping to do my first Marathon in September. I have also signed up for Tour de Helsinki (140 km cycling) in September.

P.P.S. I’ve been planning to do/take the SCJP certificate, but I have yet to read the book. I did read the SCJA book, but then skipped doing the test and decided to just go for the next one instead. (just google if you don’t know what it is, lol)

P.P.P.S I’ve been studying Spanish for a few years now, and the last course ended in April (will hopefully continue this fall), and I should be studying, but I have no interest in it.

12 comments on ““I like Time. There’s so little and so much of it. “

  1. ok.. handy time planner
    7:00 wake breakfast wash etc
    8:00 half hr dgus time commute to work
    9:00 – 17:00 work (booo)
    17:00-18:00 commute and hlaf hr degus time
    18:00 – 20:00 excercise and nommie noms
    20:00 – 24:00 DDO YAY
    That gives you time for everything plus 4 hours of lovely ddo time plus 7 hours of lovely sleep time.

  2. πŸ™‚ ty. Well it goes a bit like this (e.g. Monday):

    6.20 alarm
    7.00 get up
    7.30 cycle to work
    8.00 shower, get ready for work
    8.30-16.30 work
    16.45 cycle home
    17.40 walk to running school
    18-19.30 running school
    20-21.30 degus
    21.30-23 DDO
    23.30 bed

    Then I drink a bunch of coffee at work that makes it even harder for me to focus πŸ™‚

    Degus take about 1.5 h every evening, cycling takes about 20-22 min/direction. I could do a lot of stuff a lot faster, but being tired, just makes me slow. πŸ™‚

  3. The quote is from a brilliant show, gone before it’s time, yet has a very good ending.
    Did have to google it though, can’t be expected to remember all the lines.

    “Ah. Say no more. Evil’s still afoot … and I’m almost out of that nancy-boy hair gel that I like so much. Quickly! To the Angelmobile β€” AWAY!”

  4. πŸ˜€ lol. You are correct, sir. πŸ™‚ I have a few shows on dvd, that I’ve watched over and over. Sometimes quotes just pop up in my head πŸ™‚

    How about this one (that came to mind while watching Avengers last week): “It’s not about right, it’s not about wrong. It’s about power”.

  5. Willow: “Is there anything you don’t know everything about?”
    Giles: “Synchronized swimming. Complete mystery to me.”

    I’m with Giles on that one.

  6. πŸ˜€ a man after my own heart. (oh, and πŸ˜‰ I didn’t mean Giles)

    This is probably my all time favorite show, so anyone who knows it, is in my good graces πŸ˜€

  7. I know the show, but not from the quote (had to google). Of course, Krissonofpark’s little bit helped a lot too. I always liked Fred.

    Fred: “I never understood that saying-right as rain. How is rain right? Or wrong for that matter? Okay, I suppose if there’s a flood it’s wrong, and speaking of floods, or just being overwhelmed, what’s it like to have a vision?”

    πŸ˜‰

  8. I’ve seen 2 Seasons of Angel, but watching TV = Less time in DDO πŸ˜‰

    I’d be happy to do a couple of Quests if you decide to visit Cannith πŸ™‚

  9. My fave Angel line ever: “Let me wipe away my tears with my plastic hand.” I crack up every time.

  10. Pingback: Micki’s Delirium - Blog Archive - Time

Leave a Reply

