Thazara vs Cholthulzz

I’ve been planning for farm Litany for a while, so yesterday I decided to give it a go. I ran the Litany bosses for flagging when Thaz was lvl 17, and she kept dying in the sonic trap πŸ™‚ This time I went in solo (with a cleric hire so I could be raised if I were to die in the sonic trap), and the main part of the quest didn’t post a challenge at all πŸ™‚ Thaz is just awesome. Aura, bursts and implosion, and banishment for mephits (mephits go down!), blade barrier and then just meleing the rest (divine favor, divine power and my new lovely scimitar and mobs go down!). So, I finished the main part with more than half of my sp left and decided to go for the hardest boss right away, Cholthulzz.

Cholthuzz ddowiki

Why is he the hardest? Well because he is a f-ing tough beholder, and I’m a caster πŸ™‚ The path to Cholthuzz was longer than I remembered, but it went fine and in we go. And what happens? (Check out the screenshot below)

Litany Cholthuzz

Cholthuzz starts hitting me with energy drain. I look at my hp bar and see it getting smaller and smaller. I run and try to hide while I try to throw a few dp’s at him, but when I’m down to under 100 hp I dive into the water. I’m not even wearing underwater action (as far as I know), but I see no breath bar, so I just dive and try to hide. It doesn’t help. I’m down to less than 10 hp and am waiting to die, when suddenly a heal hits me. My lovely hire saved me in the nick of time. I swim to surface, get out a greater restoration scroll and heal up, only to get hit by energy drain again and again. I throw maybe 2 dp’s and then I just say to myself f* it, and run over to Cholthuzz to start meleing. I have no idea if I’m hitting him at all, but he’s moving about and I keep falling off the platform πŸ™‚ At some point my hire dies and I’m out of bursts. And soon after I flatline. πŸ™‚ I’m shaking like crazy, and I get a tell, “hey, you interested in a normal shroud?” πŸ™‚ lol. I’m lying there dead, shaking from fear and excitement, and I get an invite to run shroud lol. Yeah, sure, just gimme a sec. πŸ˜€

Take care and see you around Orien.
Love, Micki

10 comments on “Thazara vs Cholthulzz

  1. That ghost beholder is the bane of my life. If there was a command to see who had killed you the most times in your characters lives he would be top every time.

  2. πŸ™‚ I had to think, if there is one of those, one that my chars have had more problems with than others? Well Thaz hates reavers and hezrous. Beholders are tough, as a caster, since they hit you with antimagic and strips u of all buffs (‘cept ship buffs of course) and even aura. But Thaz is having more problems with reavers and hezrous. You leave Thaz alone with more than one reaver, she usually ends up dead. A hezrou she can handle as long as it doesn’t trip her. And oh, yeah, she can’t fight Cholthuzz alone πŸ™‚ (I wonder though, if I bring a fighter/barb hire that can keep the Cholthuzz’s focus…)

  3. I’ve done Choltuzz only once and it was crazy. We did it with two FVS:s, but the moment I was to agro him my friend told me that he wasn’t ready yet, so I quickly winged back which resulted in both of us being behind the barrier. So we had to BB it through the barrier, it took ages, but we did get it done πŸ™‚

  4. My Cleric, Picardia is the exact same with reavers! Or the ice renders. Anything that looks like those guys! I can only beat their spell resistance maybe half the time if I’m lucky.

    I once heard of three guildies flagging Abbot and one zerged into the room locking the other two out and they kept casting their Hezrous who would port in and beat down the ghostly beholder. Not the quickest…but they got it done πŸ˜›

  5. Ah, summons! πŸ™‚ Darn. I’m gonna get a barbarian hire and a summon next time. Chulthulzz, your ass is mine! πŸ˜€ (I completely forgot I could get one)

    When flagging for Abbot, I ran Litany with two fighters πŸ™‚ The other bosses weren’t a problem, Cholthuzz failed on the first try (I believe my tactics were off), but he went down on the second.

  6. Awesome story. Thats one nasty beholder. First time I went in with my FvS hit took me down pretty fast. The second time though, he was mine. Note to self, wear the silver flame talisman. I will give due credit though, my Xoriat Beholder was distracting him, so I could dp to my hearts content. =^.^=

  7. I was wondering if it was a Bucc ring that did you in…

    I honestly can’t think who my ‘bane’ would be… but I’m always willing to take out that kobold in Shroud, ’cause he bugs the heck outta me!

  8. Even as a Monk, a beholder-killer if there ever was one, Doomspheres (undead beholders) make me poop in my pants a bit. The name alone is an “oh, $#!@ moment.

    The reason is because there are precisely three of them in-game. One in Soami Gardens, one in “In The Flesh” as an Extreme Challenge optional, and the one you had the pleasure of having your brains eaten by–who also appears in “Ghosts of Perdition.” All of them are Red-Named and so none of them can be disabled with a Monk’s Jade strikes, leaving you to weaken and beat the thing as fast as you can. Time is not often on your side there.

    But hey! Gratz on your Shroud invite while you were busy returning your internal organs to their proper places. You must have many adventures. πŸ™‚

  9. πŸ™‚ lolz. Beholders used to scare me. They don’t anymore. And beholder summons? Thaz really loves them (a few beholder energy drains and Thaz can get her insta kills). There is no save against Divine Punishment, so even Doomspheres go down if someone else is keeping their focus. πŸ™‚ (although, the Firebomber in Blown to Bits was too tough even for dp. It was doing damage, just very little).

    Oh, and ty πŸ™‚ Although, not really anything special about it. People are always looking for healers, so I was getting invites long before I was flagged πŸ˜€ Some people make their clerics anonymous because of that but I really like it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

