Here’s how you flag for Thunderholme raids

I enjoy making ddo videos. I have noticed that the latest trend seems to be streaming, but I really don’t want to make an ass of myself on live camera, I prefer to record first, watch the footage, then decide if I need to cut the video or if I can upload it as it is. This is why I don’t stream.

Anywho, I was thinking about what to record next, and I figured I’d show my viewers/ followers how to flag for the Thunderholme raids. The flagging is very simple. To flag for Fire on Thunder Peak you need to find and slay Dagan: Regent Of Thunderholme, and to flag for Temple of the Deathwyrm you have to kill Sarva Ballistra: Cult of  the Dragon Emissary, which are both red named “rares”. Rare in quotation marks, because they are not rare at all, but spawn every time.

The first time I flagged for these raids, a friend of mine led me to the rares and helped me kill them, since then I’ve been flagging by myself, alone in the instance. While running around Thunderholme to familiarize myself with the area, I’ve also offered to flag other ppl in titan channel with “hey, I’m at the rare, enter the instance if you need flagging”. There is dungeon scaling, though, and the rares are much easier to kill if you do it alone.

Dagan is fairly simple to locate and kill. With blur and displace he does fairly little damage, so you can just stand there and beat him down. The dragon emissary on the other hand is rather nasty. She does a range of acid spells (and I believe the other elements as well, but acid is definitely her main). Wearing a spell absorption item will protect you from her attacks, but you still need to take her out quickly, or your item will drain and her attacks will hit you full force. The safest way is to take her out using ranged attacks, but with spell absorption and high dps melee, you’ll take her out fairly fast as well. You will have to deal with a bunch of trash too, if you don’t take them out before focusing on the emissary. One way is to activate her, then run back up the stairs to kill off trash before focusing on her. She will follow you, but a lot slower than the other mobs.

Alright, without further ado, here are my videos of the raid flagging. I apologize in advance if I ran a bit too fast, I was just trying to run past mobs instead of killing them.

Flagging for Fire on Thunder Peak:

Flagging for Temple of the Deathwyrm:

Thunderholme is a 12 man raid instance and the mobs in there respawn quickly. I have been running around killing rares and doing slayer while waiting for my raid group to fill. It’s an excellent place to blitz, lol.

Thank you for stopping by and happy hunting.

P.S. After flagging, you can talk to Ingrith Icefell on the stairs in Thunder Peaks to be teleported to the raids or to the Thunder Forge crafting station. If you use her to teleport to Temple of the Deathwyrm, the emissary will not spawn, so do not do that if someone in your party needs flagging. You can use the teleporter after someone has “spawned” her, i.e. ran the long way.

P.P.S. I have also added two picture blogs showing the path to the rares: Finding Dagan, Finding the Emissary

One comment on “Here’s how you flag for Thunderholme raids

Leave a Reply

